The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Weekend report July 5, 2009

Happy belated 4th of July!  I hope everyone had a great holiday and enjoyed some tasty eats 🙂  I haven’ t blogged for like 3 or 4 days… bear with me here!

I told myself I’d wake up early and work out Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, but that totally didn’t happen.  I worked out ONCE this last week–yipes!  And it was only cardio.  While I don’t think one week off will kill me, I’m afraid that going back will be really hard.  I don’t want this week off to build and build until I just don’t go the gym anymore, and I sure as hell don’t want to lose what I’ve worked so hard to build.  I be gettin’ my ass to the gym this week, fo’ sho!

Friday was rather boring, with both Chris and I working in an unairconditioned office from about 11 to 5, and a trip to Fajitas for dinner.  Afterward I trekked to Target for a pick me up, and ended up buying several things, including:

  • Origin Calcium 600 + D with  60% RDA Calcium and 31% RDA Vitamin D
  • Origin B-Complex sublingual liquid with 100% B-2, 100% Niacin, 100% B-6, 20,000% B-12, and 300% Panthenoic acid
  • Origin Biotin with 333% RDA
  • Up and Up SPF 15 lotion and SPF 30 spray
  • Nivea My Silhouette firming lotion/gel (hate! too fragranced for me! boo:( )
  • Dreyer’s Slow Churned Vanilla Frozen Yogurt (love!)
  • Boots Expert Sensitive Hydrating Eye Cream (love!)

Origin and Up and Up are Target brands that seem to be great values and high quality products.  The supplements I chose are all vegan, have no artificial or unnecessary ingredients, and were very reasonably priced.  Here’s hoping they help me feel more energized, assist in metabolizing my food, prevent cracky teeth, and aid in the health of my skin, hair and nails.  I didn’t end up choosing a calcium chew b/c of the extra ingredients I really don’t want (sugars, oils) and the higher cost.  But, if I do buy any in the future I think it will be the Nutrition Now brand.

Saturday I opted for oatmeal for breakfast, and didn’t realize how patriotic this shot was until now.  I’m totally not patriotic, FYI, and the blueberries just kinda landed in that star-like pattern. 

100_0720

After this and reading a bit I slaved away in the yard for two + hours pulling weeds.  Yee-haw, right?  At least I worked up a nice sweat and got in some vitamin D!

Our Fourth of July “celebration” was dinner at my dad’s house with Chris, grandma, my uncle, and my mom.  We always stand around eating a lot before dinner at my dad’s; last night it was cherries, Tumalo Peppercorn Goat Cheese, Kettle Chipotle chips, and some non-oak Chardonnay. 

My dad was really thoughtful and bought these so I could have a vegetarian dinner 🙂  He said he’s also interested in trying them–go daddy!

100_0731

Dinner included: a Veggi Patti on a toasted bun with habanero oil guacamole, dill pickles, iceburg, nearly black heirloom tomatoes, sliced jalapeno, sliced Anaheim pepper; pasta salad with grape tomatoes, broccoli, red cabbage, red onion, red pepper, carrots, vinaigrette of some sort,  and parmesan cheese.    (My dad grew all of the spicy peppers we ate :))  We had some tasty French and Oregon wines as well. 

100_0737

After dinner came slices of fresh watermelon, eaten outside while watching Lily eat her corn.  My daddy was really thoughtful and bought 2 ears of corn just for her!  We grilled it and let her enjoy it right off the cob 🙂

100_0740

As if that wasn’t enough food, we jumped for the Lee Berry Farms rhubarb pie awaiting us in the kitchen.  I brought the Dreyer’s froyo over to go with the pie; it totally tasted like ice cream!  I forgot to photograph my first bowl, and show you my seconds here:

100_0748

Sunday morning started off with a beautiful bowl of berries and granola, coffee, and finishing up A Good Year.  Made me want to be in Provence like none other…

100_0754

This beautiful moth was enjoying the wildflowers; anyone know what the heck this is?

100_0778

Chris and I played tennis for about an hour today with the Lily Bird acting as our ball girl.  She’s had quite an active weekend and is passed out under my feet now 🙂

Holy shit, BBC America did a documentary on the 18 girls in Gloucester, Massachusetts, that all got pregnant around the same time.  Crazy stuff!

This biotch is tired and ready to hit the hay.  In a rather meh mood for various odd reasons, but all in all the weekend was  good.  Here’s to a great week ahead 🙂

 

One Response to “Weekend report”

  1. sex Says:

    Truly when someone doesn’t be aware of after that its
    up to other visitors that they will assist, so here it occurs.


Leave a Reply

