The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Produce EXTRAvaganza June 27, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kersten @ 10:27 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Duuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuude, I bought like 28 pounds of produce today! (And I eat nearly all of that within a week, sans rinds/seeds/pits of course!)  I have never added up the weight of the fruit and veggie goodness that finds its way home with me from the store; it was quite astounding to do so.

Buying organic on my trips to Costco ain’t happenin’ much, esp. b/c the prices have been great on their awesome offerings.  Costco’s selection varies between organic and non, too.  I almost need to go to Freddy’s first to check pricing and availability, then Costco, and then Freddy’s again. 

I’ve been really interested in reading other bloggers’ food cost analyses, finding out how much their grocery bills are, etc.  For your enjoyment, here’s what I brought home today and the total cost (I hope this doesn’t bore the shit out of you):

Costco: $26.95

  • 3 lbs cherries $5.99
  • 4 lbs strawberries $4.99
  • 2 lbs blueberries $5.99
  • one whole pineapple $2.99
  • 2 lbs grape tomatoes $6.99

Fred Meyer: $40.15 (including BYO bag refund and $0.50 coupon)

  • two Silk Vanilla Creamers $3.98
  • 2.4 lbs butternut squash $3.10
  • 4.79 lbs canteloupe $1.77
  • 2 ears yellow corn $1
  • 1.04 lbs carrots $0.61
  • .18 lbs soy protein powder $1.62
  •  6 peppercorn ciabatta rolls $1.50
  • 1.28 lbs organic broccoli $1.27
  • 1 red bell pepper $1.50
  • 1 head romaine lettuce $1.00
  • 1.08 lbs flank steak $8.63
  • .86 lbs bananas $$0.51
  • .32 lbs cremini mushrooms $0.96
  • .91 lbs organic Fuji apples $1.52
  • Burt’s Bees Peach and Willowbark Deep Pore Scrub $7.99

Yowza, excluding the face scrub I spent $59.11, and we don’t have enough protein for Chris to last the week.  My add’l produce intake over the last month or so has increased our bill a bit, but what’s a fruit-addict like me gonna do when all this insane summer fruit is around? 

Do you use a fruitwash and/or wash your produce methodically?  I do, but didn’t get around to it for this batch of stuff, yet.  I’ll be standing in front of the sink for an hour or so tomorrow washing, rinsing, and spinning my produce to squeaky clean perfection.

And now for my predictable trusty content:

An early breakfast of vegan French toast with Garden Sausage, blueberries, and syrup at Bob’s Red Mill 🙂  And coffee, of course.  (Don’t hate me Andrea, I decided to do this late last night and used it as some alone time before the packing and sorting fun at my mom’s.)

100_0626

I came home rather hangry and threw together a big salad with some fruit and veg on the side.  Salad had: romaine, grapes, apple, yellow bell pepp, carrot, avocado, Boca burger, chow mein noodles, sliced almonds, goat cheese, and balsamic.

100_0627

I had to force in the last few bites of salad and saved the side fruit/veg for later, after my grocery shopping. 

Chris and I visited the gym for a few hours, where I busted out legs, triceps, 25 minutes of running & walking on the treadmill, and 28 minutes o’ sweaty fun on the stair mill.  I was getting hangry again at the end of this sesh, and was glad to quickly move on to….

Dinner was a repeat of a simple, voluminous veg fest:  steamed corn with Smart Balance Light, steamed broc, and oven roasted butternut squash chips.  Oh. So. Good.  I’d already had loads of protein early in the day, so I didn’t feel too bad about not having much with dinner.

100_0628

I knew a fruity treat would be in order later on, and when the time rolled around I threw in a little crack as well.  Oh, bowl of fruity, granola-y goodness, how I have missed thee.

100_0631

I’m ready for bed, but is it ready for me?  I’ll check it out and report back tomorrow 😉  Enjoy your Sunday!

 

2 Responses to “Produce EXTRAvaganza”

  1. Andrea Says:

    I’m glad you got in your vegan french toast fix 🙂 And some alone time – that’s priceless!

  2. Totally jealous of your produce! We desperately need to go to the store and I’m crying over lack of fresh things. 😉

    Since you guys are known at the Mexican joint, I bet they would make something special for you. 🙂 Some sort of deconstructed burrito on lettuce or something.


Leave a Reply

