The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Giddyup June 4, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kersten @ 9:58 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Gotta love Kramer.  I’m lacking in the post-title-creativity department, so I’ll just get to the point.  The week is dragging on again, and I keep thinking yesterday was Thursday and today was Friday.

Thursday Wednesday

Breakfast of Kashi Go Lean Crunch, strawberries, and lots of almond milk.  Lovin’ this cereal drowned in the milk 🙂

100_0420

Lunch of burrito guts on Romaine topped with dill pickles and avocado.  Some carrots, apples, blueberries, and apples on the side and for snacking later.  I really love all of the fruit I’ve been eating, especially the cherries and blueberries lately. 

100_0421 

Snack of fruits, and then later a Kashi TLC Chewy Granola Honey Almond Flax bar, nuked for 8 seconds.

100_0422

Dinner was a visit to Si Senor–it had been like three weeks due to schedule and dog watching issues.  My mom joined us and we split a Si Senor Margarita on special for Ladies’ Night 😉  I had a Burrito Fresco, which is beans, rice &  grilled seasonal veggies topped with a zesty red sauce and salad greens.  Yummy!

100_0424

100_0425

That’s my mom’s Ropa Vieja salad in the background–my old favorite.

After dinner I was kind of in a funk for no good reason.  The humidity lately pisses me off, and when I dragged myself to the gym I was shocked at how hot and humid it was upstairs.  I decided to do the Arc Trainer, but boged out after 10 minutes b/c of the heat.  Downstairs I was much cooler on the stair mill, but still hatin’ it so I only did 20 minutes there.  At least I went to the gym, I suppose.

I ate a snack for no good reason when I got home–a few Kashi TLC Honey Sesame Crackers and some almonds.  Then I went in for a small handfull of the Kashi Go Lean Crunch. 

100_0428

FridayThursday

Breakfast was the same as ThursdayWednesday, but I ran out of strawbs so I used blues.  Loved it! 

100_0429

Lunch was another burrito gut salad with Romaine, without anything else added (guts on the bottom).  Same lunch companions of carrots, apples, blueberries, and cherries that I snacked on during the afternoon mostly.

100_0430

Dinner was eaten at, surprise, Fajitas!  I had a burrito with whole pinto beans, green beans, carrots, cauliflower, olives, jalapenos, and verde sauce.  Chris thought his meal looked pretty damn good so I included it in the pic, too 🙂

100_0432

Oh, how La Casa is good…

100_0436

Gettin’ some Lakers v. Orlando action there.

Andrea phoned in that she was heading to the gym, so I took my overstuffed, semi-buzzed ass on over there to do a quick upper body workout while she finished up yoga, and then we did some cardio.  We walked, she ran, I walked, she walked, and then I ran.  Whoa, yeah, can’t believe it myself.  I did about 20 minutes at 5 miles per hour, so I guess that was about 1 2/3 miles.  I was surprised that I didn’t really feel winded, and I think I could have kept going 🙂  Perhaps this will help me firm up some of the jiggly pockets on my body and avoid some overuse injuries from just using the stair mill.  Cool!

And with that I leave you.  Andrea and I are going to be crazy dedicated ladies and workout at 6:30 tomorrow morning.  I suppose I had better get some sleep…

Have a great Friday!

 

7 Responses to “Giddyup”

  1. Andrea Says:

    Pretty soon you’re going to be out running me!

  2. Melanie Says:

    Totally never thought about nuking the granola bar. I’m so trying that:). Kudos to you for running! In my heart of hearts, I just wish I could be a runner, but every time I try, I end up punking out. It seems like the best workout though!

  3. I wanna margarita! Poop! I wanted the Celtics to stay in the play offs =[

  4. april Says:

    Thats a really good idea to microwave the granola bar! I microwave z-bars but I never thought to microwave granola bars! have a great day!

  5. april Says:

    Oh and by the way, I’m april- your secret santa! I recently started a blog and can finally reveal myself lol

  6. Erin Says:

    Whoa great job girl!

  7. Sharon Says:

    Awesome awesome!!
    And I need to find some cherries, I can’t wait till they go on sale@


Leave a Reply

