The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Buzzin’ along June 2, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kersten @ 10:30 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You may notice that I’m now a Foodbuzz Featured Publisher 🙂  I did this to try to increase traffic to my blog, and perhaps earn a few bucks here and there (if you’re kind enough to click on the ad when it is embedded soon;)).  I like Foodbuzz–it is totally like Facebook for foodies, and I’ve enjoyed the plethora of recipes, posts, restaurant reviews, and more on the site.

Was today only Tuesday?  Felt like Wednesday somehow.  Our new office’s carpet still hasn’t been corrected, as we found out that the correct carpet is a few days out yet.  Effin’ project manager is grating on me nerves, argh.  (Yes, that was in pirate fashion ;))

I added Bob’s Red Mill ground flax to my oats yesterday and today, and I think I noticed it more today.  Kind of a bran-y flavor?  My oats were a little bland, but I won’t go and blame that on the flax. 

100_0410

Lunch was a burrito gut salad, consisting of Saturday’s burrito contents, avocado, verde sauce, Romaine, and some of my homemade hummus.  Good, but too many pinto beans.  Leftover fruit salad on the side (I know it looks a little scary, but still tastes good).

100_0411

I snacked on this fruit and carrot over the next few hours:
100_0413

At some point I went for the candy bowl for a sugary treat (why exactly I don’t know…), and came up with this:

100_0414

Dinner was a really delicious, special treat:  Tortilla Espanola.  Chris introduced me to this when we got together, and I used to make it a lot for weekend brunch.  It is a really simple dish (basically and egg, onion, and potato frittata), and accompanied by some sea salt and olive oil you’ll swear you’ve died and gone to heaven.  You’ll think you’ve transcended heaven when you make a sandwich out of it and spread garlic aioli on the bread 🙂  Tehehe.  I enjoyed mine with half of a potato burger bun toasted and drizzled with EVOO & sea salt.  I seriously used my finger to get the leftover olive oil and salt off of the plate :shocked:  It’s THAT good.  I’ll be putting the recipe on Foodbuzz I think…

100_0416

Before my trek to the gym I ate the rest of the fruit salad:
100_0417

After a good leg session I mounted the mill of glory for 50 intensely sweaty minutes of torture cardio, after which I was beet-frickin red.  Chris was still playing basketball when I was done, so I had a nice stretching session and a date with the ab crunch machine. 

What could have possibly been in order after that workout?  You guessed it, fruitas.  Chris promptly ate that pineapple, so I replaced it with some smaller chunks we have leftover.  I’m telling ya, that pineapple from Costco really was great.  It was like $3.19 and it is perfect–sweet and juicy, firm, and golden.  I rather enjoyed cutting it up, too.

100_0418

That didn’t quite hit the spot, so a handful of almonds were in order.  My little LB wanted some of that action, but she didn’t get any of that goodness.

100_0419

And here we are! 

Time to watch some Cheers with the man and hit the hay 😉

 

3 Responses to “Buzzin’ along”

  1. Melanie Says:

    I always get really red when I workout too. I’m always afraid that the gym staff will check on me or something. It’s because I’m so pale, but I’m always afraid that people will worry that I’m about to keel over;).

  2. carolinebee Says:

    AH my dad was from Spain, and my grandma made Tortilla de patata all the time it is soooo good!! I need to find a recipe- hmm or just go to spain again 😀 That sounds better.

  3. Andrea Says:

    Spanish tortillas are to die for – I ate quite a few when I was in spain!
    I’ve noticed that you’ve been eating a lot more produce lately! You’re kicking ass on the whole veg thing!
    Gym tonight?! I’m bloated and feel fat. None of my pants fit this morning so i need some ass kicking at the gym.


Leave a Reply

