The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Majorly sporadical May 27, 2009

Holy hell, I thought this was posted two nights ago!  Forgive me!!  Read on…

I have been so sporadical about posting (yes, that’s from “Clueless 🙂 )  Life hasn’t been any less busy lately, and I have a feeling this week will be a doosy with final move prep and actually moving.  Yee-haw!

Now that it’s been over two weeks since I’ve cut meat out of my diet, I’ve had a few challenges and surprises:

  • Beano ain’t vegetarian 😦  I should have read the box when I bought it, but sheesh, it is fish based??!! 
  • The Mexican food I’m eating is likely still not vegetarian b/c of the beans and rice.  I need to ask again.
  • I ate a steak Saturday night (!).  Chris’ clients invited us to dinner at their house before I went on the veg trial, and he felt bad saying something about me not eating steak.  It was a big t-bone, tasted okay, but I could’ve done without.
  • Getting enough protein, and not too much soy protein, is a challenge.  I may add in some egg whites to salads and such for a boost.
  • I’m glad I was already eating healthfully before I started cutting out meats, ’cause for the most part my diet hasn’t changed.
  • I’m not sure where I’ll go from here–veg with occasional meats? Ovo-lacto veg?  ???

How about a backwards trek through my last three or four days or whatever it’s been since my last post…

I just ate this:

100_0431

Overall I’m a little disappointed in the big box of like 24 bars I bought at Costco, as they all seem way drier than the chocolate cherry chewy bars I had.  The flavors are good, though, and I like the big nuts in the trail mix ones 🙂  Hehe!

Dinner was yummy!  Portabella mushroom burger with jalapenos, avocado, dill pickles, a mushroom/pepper skewer, corn, and a roasted marshmallow afterward. 

100_0427

100_0428

I did some may-juh yardwork this afternoon, including mowing both lawns, weeding, and trimming trees/vines/weeds.  So glad it’s done (for this week at least)!

Lunch was a fruit festival’r’us, a la Sharon:

Leftover fruit from breakfast, apple, strawberries, cherries, and carrot for some veg variety.  After having like no fruit yesterday I needed this.

100_0426

My mom and I visited a dog park in Lake Oswego after breakfast.  The dogs had fun, but didn’t play much since it wasn’t familiar territory.

100_0412

Breakfast was a yummy treat at La Provence in LO.  We shared blueberry pancakes and the Colette omelette, which was more like an egg and basil frittata with tomatoes and Swiss cheese on top.  Yum!  I ate a little bit too much…

 100_0365

Sunday

I wanted something sweet, and most likely just needed water last night, but I had these.  Love!  Maybe in about three years I’ll eat through the multiple packs I have leftover from last Halloween.

100_0530_00

This incredible drink should have been enough for dessert…

100_0529_00

Dinner was a visit to see Maria at Fajitas.  ‘Twas a beautiful day so we sat outside with the LB.  My burrito turned out a bit different:  carrot, green beans, olives, jalapenos inside with traditional enchilada sauce and a LOAD of cheese outside (forgot to say no cheese), beans and rice on the side. 

100_0528_00

Chris and I were at work for a few hours doing more scanning and organzing. So not exciting, but productive at least.

Lunch was the other half of Friday’s dinner burrito warmed in a skillet, and mixed with some TVP.  I thought it would be too much food, so I didn’t add the egg whites I’d planned on, but I was still hungry afterward and had a piece of toast with Smart Balance Light.

100_0523_00

100_0522_00

Breakfast was a traditional bowl of steel cut oats, eaten outside while playing with LB.

100_0521_00

Saturday

We were invited to dinner at Chris’ clients’ house, and had a wonderful time.  They have a gorgeous backyard with a pond, beautiful flowers, a veggie plot, and more. 

Dessert was individual cheesecakes with strawberries and cream.  Heavenly!

100_0516_00

Dinner was the t-bone I mentioned, grilled asparagus, a Romaine salad with onions, avocado, grapes, and homemade dressing, grilled French bread with olive oil, sea salt crystals, and green onions, and some crudite and crackers served with tapenade.

100_0515

100_0512_00

100_0508_00

100_0506_00

Lunch was ????  I can’t remember and I don’t have a pic. 

Here’s some of Chris’ pics from Arizona.  I made him promise to photograph some of his eats since he stole my camera 😉

100_0379

100_0380

100_0381

100_0382

Looks like it was my kind of menu 😉

There were tons of bunnies all over the place.  They have cute white tails!

100_0455

And some ducklings with their mama 🙂

100_0399

And that’s all, folks.  I’d love to give you like another ten pages to read, but I’m tired and tomorrow is an early day.  I will share that I bought the last of my office furniture yesterday!! 🙂  Yay!  Can’t believe our first day in our new office is one week from today.  Time flies.  Must be having fun then, right?  We’ll leave that one open for discussion…

G’night 🙂

 

One Response to “Majorly sporadical”

  1. Andrea Says:

    It is so cute that Chris took food pictures! My Chris would have never done that.
    I’ll be at the gym tonight for yoga at 7:30 despite the fact that I am may-juh hungover.


Leave a Reply

