The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

One week in May 14, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kersten @ 10:05 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

It has been a week since I’ve had any meat/fish/seafood, and for that matter eggs I think.  My eating hasn’t felt that different, other than incorporating three new things I never used to eat:  cauliflower, mushrooms, and beans.  I don’t know if I’ve felt different, but that’s okay cause I’ve been feelin pretty good since I moved to a healthier diet months ago 🙂 

Wednesday

Typical oats

100_0697

I never really ate lunch b/c I was busy getting ready for a meeting.  I scarfed down a carrot and an apple around noon, and then had some grapes and the granola bar around 1:45.

100_0698

My brother was in town dropping off his doggy for my mom to watch while he’s on vacation (phew, that was a mouthful), so we celebrated his birthday a little early with a dinner.  This was a bit of a challenge food-wise, as I guess I didn’t specify clearly enough that I’m on an ovo-lacto veggie trial; everyone thought I’d eat the halibut for dinner.  Believe me, I know it was good, but I chose not to eat it and brought on a little bit of wrath from the fam & Chris.

I had: a mixed greens salad with broccoli, bell pepper, apple, and almonds; roasted onion, potato, and red bell pepp; and roasted asparagus.  Oh yes, I lest not leave out the little glasses of champagne, sauvingnon blanc, and pinot noir 🙂

100_0699

Say hi to Beaudin!  He’s such a cutie pie!

100_0701

And say hello, er goodbye, to my dessert:  Lee Berry Farms rhubarb pie with Dreyer’s Slow Churned vanilla bean ice cream.  Mmmmmmmmmmm!

100_0702

Awhile later at home Chris had some pretzels, and Lily strategically placed her head for handouts.  (Ignore the hideous furniture in the background.)

100_0705

While reading Prevention I saw an ad for almonds and thought a few sounded good.  I was right 🙂

100_0706

Thursday

Lily didn’t want to eat her carrot this morning 😦

100_0709

Extra liquidy normal oats.

100_0710

Almost lunch-time snack.

100_0711

My real lunch.  This salad was full of random goodness, including Andrea’s seitan, avocado, red bell pepp, dill pickles, edamame, Romain, and mixed greens.  At first the seitan was good, but then it reminded me of the tofu I ate before my flu kicked in months ago, and I couldn’t eat the rest 😦  Booooooo!  Damn aversive conditioning is still killing me like three or four months later.  Erin, how do I get over this??

100_0712

Snacky poo for fueling worky poo.

100_0714

Veggie burrito at Fajitas!  This one was extra tasty and special, and consisted of:  flour tortilla (I don’t think they have whole wheat there :(), rice (forgot to ask if it’s vegetarian!!), carrots, black beans, green bell pepp, onion, cauliflower, green beans, and verde sauce.  Ay ay ay!

100_0715

No, I didn’t drink that whole Cazuela…Chris helped me out with that 😉  I only had half of my La Casa, too.

100_0716

Lily was such a cutie while we ate.

100_0717

After a run to Costco and Fred Meyer I enjoyed the fruits of my labor, literally.

100_0719

I’m pooped, and feeling a tad blah.  Can ya tell?  I’m not my usual chatty self obviously, but hey, I’m sure many of you would rather view my day in the form of pics rather than read my long editorials 😉  I’ll forive ya!

Thank god tomorrow is Friday, cause it’s felt like Friday for three days already.  The office buildout and move is starting to become stressful, esp. when the contractor comes back and tells you it will cost $555 to move 4 electric/data outlets.  WTF?  Are they made of gold and plastered with cocaine or what?  I have a feeling we’ll be skipping that and opting for some cord hiding supplies instead…

Hoping you’ve all had a great few days!  Adios!

 

3 Responses to “One week in”

  1. carolinebee Says:

    AH that little marshmallow pup is so cute 😀 I’m glad your veggie trial is going well, you don’t seem like you’re missing out- that burrito looks amazing!

  2. Sharon Says:

    Oh wow, super tasty! I totally want that veggie burrito!

  3. Jordan Says:

    I could seriously ea t those Pumpkin Spice granola bars all day long. I loveeeee them.


Leave a Reply

