The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Blah blah blah May 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kersten @ 10:45 pm
Tags: , , ,

I woke up sooooooooooo tired this morning, and all I wanted was to stay in bed.  But, no, of course this is the real world and I had to get up and go to work. 

I enjoyed some coffee at home, then nuked the oats/7-grain once at work.  I’m almost out of the 7-grain, and excited to get back to just steel cut oats!

100_0625

When Chris ate lunch around 11:30 I wasn’t hungry, and then all of a sudden at 2:30 I realized I never ate!  I wasn’t hungry still, but was feeling rather slow from staring at the computer all morning and doing some heavy lifting with my brain.  I did end up adjusting my lunch to be meat free.  I removed the turkey from my sando and added in some yellow bell pepp, and kept the usual pickle, romaine, and avocado.  I also ate all of the grapes and half the apple.

100_0626

For some reason I wasn’t feeling so hot after this, but not really sick.  Allergies?  Annoying. 

I plowed on in my work, and we cut outta there around 4:30.  After swinging by home and grabbing the LB, we headed off to Fajitas for dinner where we sat outside 🙂  Lily wanted to roar for you in front of the camera.

100_0630

Looking at the menu all I kept seeing was meat and cheese, cheese, or meat…until I figured I could get a burrito and just filler up with veggies!  I told Pedro to have the chef throw in any veggie he had, pass on the cheese, and this is what I got:

100_0635

I shoulda taken a pic of the inside, ’cause it was good!  Bell pepp, onion, mushroom (yes, I ate mushroom, Queen of Fungus Hating that I am), tomato wrapped in a flour tortilla and smothered in enchilada sauce.  There was also rice and some fajita sauce mixed in there, and it was all quite a savory flavor combo.  I was full enough after eating only half, so I saved the other half for lunch tomorrow 🙂

The postre was perfect…1/2 of La Casa to satisfy my sweet tooth.  I love these little glasses, too.

100_0636

All day I figured I’d go to the gym tonight, but when I got home I was toying with the notion of skipping it because my ass was dragging.  So I just got dressed and left to make sure I wouldn’t boge out.  Today was chest, back, biceps, and abs, followed with a 45 minute climb on the mill.

Okay, this seems SO fucked up to me… The Aleve commercial with the badminton lady who says her doctor told her she’s overusing her knees, and that wasn’t what she wanted to hear, so she takes Aleve to get rid of the pain so she can still play.  Um, does she have a death wish for her knees?  (Like I should talk though, cause I’ve stayed on the mill plenty of times when the knees weren’t feelin’ perfect.)  All Aleve commercials seem like this to me–people taking pain meds so they can avoid listening to their bodies and keep doing what they want.  Seems irresponsible to promote such things.

I wasn’t particularly hungry when I got home, but by the time I prepped my oats and coffee for the a.m. the tum was waking up.  I opted to have a 1/4 apple, Better’N’PB, and a few pieces of chocolate.  This didn’t quite hit the spot, but I think that’s cause the allergy hunger/funky tum is messing with me.

So, after I spilled my beans to you about vegetarianism/reduced impact diet, today felt kinda weird.  I still didn’t talk with Chris about it fully, but we had a quick exchange at dinner that was something like this: “You need the menu?” ‘Yeah, I want to try something new, without meat.’ “Are you getting all weird on me?” ‘Yeah, a little 🙂 I want to reduce my impact on the environment by changing my diet.’ “Okay, just don’t get too crazy!  I’ll just have to make up for you with my meat consumption I guess ;)”  ‘And I’ll counteract with not eating meat.’  “Okay.” 

Not exactly a philosphical discussion or emotional baring, but I guess that’s okay for now.  Chris loves meat and I like it, and I don’t have hopes of weaning him off of it any time soon.  He kept saying “Blech, just vegetables?” in a half serious/half joking manner.  It’ll be an uphill battle fo’ sho’!  I’ll have to be sly about inserting healthful things into his diet to see if he notices 😉

I’m heading to bed so I can get up early and do some cardio, then hit the Oregon City Farmer’s Market.  I hope it is a delight of sights, smells, and colors.  I leave you with a timeless quote I just heard:

“You’re going to love my nuts”–Vince, The Slap Chop/ShamWow dude

 

2 Responses to “Blah blah blah”

  1. Andrea Says:

    If you decide to go veg, chris will come around.
    Sham-POW!
    http://njfrogman.blogspot.com/2009/03/sham-pow-slap-chop-vince-offer-arrested.html

  2. google.com Says:

    I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly.
    I’m quite sure I’ll learn lots of new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!


Leave a Reply

