The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Dusting off the high heels April 25, 2009

Yup, that’s right folks, I actually wore high heels to work on Friday!  I had to wear something that would go from day to evening, and I knew I wanted to dress up a bit.  I wore a multi-color weave skirt with fringe on the bottom from one of my skirt suits, plus a vibrant multi-colored form fitting 3/4 sleeve shirt with some beads and sequins.  Sounds a horror, I know, but it really was pretty and well put together, especially with my purple high heels 🙂

(After being complimented like a hundred times yesterday I felt really incredible, and I can’t believe I forgot to have someone take a pic of me all day and evening.  D’oh!)

Friday evening I actually went out, and not to the gym!  A bunch of the ladies from my mom’s old neighborhood had a table at The 51st Annual Ebony Fashion Fair–The Runway Report, sponsored by The Links, Inc, of Portland, OR, and we were invited to join them. 

There was an appetizer bar that served as dinner for me… pineapple, cantaloupe, grapes, swiss and cheddar cheese, egg rolls, chicken pasty puffs, and a few other things.  I also had a few glasses of Chateau Ste. Michelle Riesling and a vodka rocks (!).  Not quite a healthy dinner, but whatevs, I don’t get out to fashion shows or socialize with others very often.

The show was really cool, and had a ton of haute couture and high end designs from major domestic and international designers.  I’d never been to a fashion show before, and liked seeing the fashions displayed to some great R&B beats.

Before the fashion show started we all decided we should go out afterward (this coming from a group of ladies who usually go to bed and get up really early), and ended up leaving just over half way through the show since many of us started to fade a bit. 

At 1001 we hit up more booze, and some tasty eats: fries with truffle oil, a charcuterie plate with toasts, and some risotto fritters.  I had two lemon drops, a few fries, some toasts, and (gasp!) some chicken liver mousse on toast.  I never thought I’d eat that in my whole life… I’ve always been rather disgusted by pate, fois gras, and the like. 

Many times during the evening I was asked what my workout routine is, what I eat, how I was able to lose weight… I felt a little awkward b/c I don’t feel like I’m that small or svelte or anything, but it was really complimentary and I hope I inspired a few of the ladies who mentioned they wanted to make some changes 🙂 

We headed out around 11:45, and my mom brought me home.  I had this perverted idea that I’d get up early and do cardio before Pilates, but after I’d been asleep awhile I woke up and turned off the alarm I’d set.  “WTF was I thinking?,” I asked myself, “I want to sleep in and relax!”

I thought I had plenty of water yesterday evening, but this morning my body told me a different story!  I had a headache and sort of felt icky, so I ate my oatmeal, made coffee, and took a Tylenol allergy pill (they often help the headache more than just straight up Tylenol).  I also chugged a few glasses of water, but my headache didn’t want to go away until this afternoon. Grr.  I was quite a lazy ass and just sat around all day.

Lunch was: an omelette with one egg, one egg white, lightly steamed broccoli, peppered turkey, and some avocado on top; and a piece of whole wheat toast with a big schmear of Smart Balance Light.  I also put a little bit of cheddar in the omelette (hungover brain telling me to eat something oily and tasty), but it didn’t add anything and I should’ve just left it out.   

With the move to my new office growing ever closer, I spent a ton of time today sketching out furniture, envisioning the layout, looking up furniture, and never arriving at a conclusion I totally like 😐  We have to pick paint and carpet colors by Tuesday, which isn’t a big deal, but we also have to decide where to put the power outlets, network plugs, and lights, which requires knowing the office layout.  With like 10 million choices of furniture and layouts it ain’t easy to figure this shit out and feel confident in my decision.

All of that thinking made me hungry, so we visited Fajitas for dinner.  I had a small tortilla soup but it just wasn’t quite as tasty as usual.  The La Casa seemed to taste different, too, but was still delicioso. Was my taste just off today?  I don’t know… it seems like I didn’t enjoy my savory eats much at all 😦

After dinner I hit up the Nordstrom Rack to exchange some hair conditioner that was too perfumey for some face wash I think will be good, then I went to the gym for 45 minutes of cardio on the stair mill.  I picked up the pace today and got in a really nice sweat that flew by as I read The Economist, my new friend in beating the clock on cardio.  What a great Saturday night, right?  I never thought I’d look forward to going to a quiet gym on a Saturday night…

Once home and cleaned up I ate a snack of vanilla Dannon Light’n’Fit yogurt, soy protein powder, and pumpkin flax granola.  I got a ravenously hungry feeling not too long after eating that, and figured it was allergies, or the soy didn’t set well with me.  Has that happened to you before?  I’ve heard soy can be tough on the tummy sometimes. Eventually I had to eat something, so I went for a serving of Kashi TLC 7 grain crackers.  That seemed to do the trick 🙂

Time to unwind a bit and hit the hay.  My house is a frickin’ mess, I have a busy day otherwise tomorrow, and I need to figure out this office thing.  Perhaps some mind-numbing TV will help 🙂  Later, yo!

 

3 Responses to “Dusting off the high heels”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Awh, what an awesome night – and that is so awesome they inquired about what you are doing and such in terms of workout/eating, etc!!

  2. carolinebee Says:

    hot outfit, put it on and take a pic!! 😀 I agree FULLY about the soy..I love miss gliding calm but i tried her tofu and my stomach was nooott happy

  3. Hearpelia Says:

    Nice information – i will come back…


Leave a Reply

