The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Little Bunny Foo Foo April 18, 2009

I saw a bunny while at the gym today!  And, no, it wasn’t pumping iron 😉  Off to the west side of the gym there’s a small greenspace, and it was there grazing in the grass.  How cute!  I enjoyed watching it while I did my hack squats.

Let’s head back to Friday for a recap of eats and such….

Yeah, I’m not sure about this 7-grain cereal thing.  I wish it were heartier, with more substantially sized grains and more fiber.  The taste is a little different, too…more cardboard-y?  I can’t quite put my finger on it.  Any thoughts? 

This was the 7-grain cereal with PB, apple, cinnamon, soy protein powder, and water.

100_0470

Thankfully my first appointment went just fine, and I came out of it smiling and feeling positive.  I was also feeling skinny b/c my pants were loose and my client commented that I look great and like I’ve lost a lot of weight 🙂

Next up was prepping for my 1pm appointment, which I also had been dreading.  I chowed down on my lunch around noon:  whole wheat bread, peppered turkey, pickle, romaine; and the faithful carrot.  My brother commented on how my carrots look rather raggedy, and rightfully so.  They’re unpeeled, and I often cut them with too small of a knife, leading to semi-mangled, uneven sticks.  Whatevs, they still taste the same, right?!

100_0471

My second meeting went okay, too, I emerged still feeling positive. Phew!  I feared something would happen that would ruin my Friday and lead me into the weekend in a shitty mood.  Not so!  I was quite famished, though, and proceeded to eat my apple and yogurt.

100_0472

I was still feeling hungry after this (which didn’t make sense since I’d just had a few hundred calories), and a little funky.  As I reached for my crackers it dawned on me I was probably feeling overly hungry from allergies.  That funky symptom is not one of my favorites. So, instead of eating more I drank some water, took an allergy pill, and moved on.  Worked like a charm.

Chris and I visited Fajitas for dinner, and even though I knew I’d be working out later I drank a bit of a Cazuela.  My dinner was a small bowl of tortilla soup, followed by a Tequila Popper (surprise from our waiter 🙂 ), and part of a La Casa.  So good!

100_0473

100_0474 

The shot glass is from the Tequila Popper…no evidence left 😉

Instead of letting all of this settle more I went to the gym sooner than later, and I paid the price.  I broke a sweat on my first exercise (chest press), which isn’t normal, and I ended up being a little clutzy.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t drunk or anything.  I was, however, a little full and feeling tired from the booze. 

While setting up the lat pulldown Hammer Strength machine I dropped a 25 pound barbell on my right foot.  Holy shit, that hurt.  I cursed and laughed to myself, and proceeded to get along with my reps while trying to ignore my aching foot and act cool.  “Did I break it?  Do I need to go to urgent care?  Can I finish my workout or do cardio?”  Luckily the pain didn’t remain too intense, and walking on it didn’t hurt, so I moved on and finished my workout.  After which I proceeded to drag my shin across the corner of a machine’s footrest.  Okay, time to get the eff out of there, I said–no cardio or I may end up falling off the machine and not living to tell about it.

Thankfully my foot didn’t swell, nor does it even look bruised (yet).  How’d I manage that?  Pure luck, fo’ sho.  No more drinking and working out!

I was in a rather snacky mood when I got home, so I had some granola with almond milk, and then some Genisoy Sweet Crisps after that.  I think I missed a pic of the granola…

100_0476

Have you seen “Mistresses” on BBC America?  Pretty good writing if you ask me, with some twists, turns and pure, unbridled adultery, jealousy, and reality.  :shocked:

Saturday

Because I had to wake up early all week, I wanted to sleep in and wake up without an alarm.  This meant skipping pilates, which I could handle since I figured I’d go workout later instead.  I did end up waking up early enough to go, but because of lunch plans I still opted to stay home and chillax.

Breakfast was a bowl of granola with almond milk, and coffee with Silk vanilla creamer.  I’m really happy to have found the creamer, and even though it has sugar in it I still feel soooooooo much better drinking it instead of Coffeemate, powdered crap, or even real 1/2 & 1/2 or cream. 

100_0477

That’s real sunshine, folks!  Although it was a bit chilly and overcast, the sun popped out and shined in on me as I ate.

Around 11 I headed to Bob’s Red Mill for an early lunch with Andrea.  Bob’s was packed!!!   We each ordered breakfast for lunch 🙂  I had dollar pancakes with one egg, and a fruit cup on the side.  Such cute little cakes!  I smeared some marionberry jam on a few and really liked that flavor combo.

100_0478

Andrea and I had some good laughs while catching up 🙂  Loved it!  I like being social and realize it seems to have gone by the wayside lately.  Here’s where I get back on the bandwagon of scheduling things in advance and actually getting out at least once a month…   OH, and I gotta mention this–when I first walked up to Andrea she was amazed at how I’ve slimmed down:)  Yeah!  Girl, I wish I could pay you the million bucks that made me feel like!  😉 Thank you!

At noon I had to head out to North Clackamas Park for the Earth Day community event going on.  I was volunteering as a Master Recycler at a table showcasing hazardous household materials, how to avoid them, and alternatives.  Sounds grand, but it was really just a table with brochures.  We were outside, though, and there were some neat things other tables had like a bird quiz, native planting guides, conservation information, and other things to keep us busy.  I took the bird quiz and ended up winning a great photo of a hummingbird mother feeding her baby!  I also won a raffle drawing and got a bee box.  How cool!  I was thinking of buying a bee box a month ago and never got around to it; glad I didn’t!

Toward the end of the event someone brought out fresh baked pumpkin chocolate chip cookies.  I knew once I saw them that I had to have at least one–they are one of my favorite cookies since they’re so moist, and more like little cakes than cookies.  I had two and loved every bite.

100_0479

The sun was out more by the time I left the park, and I rocked the drive home with the sunroof open.  It has been forever since I was able to do that!

Although I wanted to take advantage of the sunny day by going for a ride in the convertible with Chris, I opted to hit the gym for weights and cardio.  I had a great workout and will guiltily admit that I took the Real Simple magazine I read while on the stair mill.  It’s the March issue, and it has lots of great ideas about cooking, good buys, and getting rid of clutter/junk.  I figured if someone left it behind (as all magazines that are at 24 Hr; they’re not club subscriptions), and it was a month or two old, hopefully I wouldn’t be generating bad karma by taking it home.  Maybe I can leave a magazine next time I go to even things out 🙂

I was famished like the second I stepped off the mill, so I didn’t even bother to shower before Chris and I visited Fajitas for a second night of Mexican indulgence.  We sat outside with Lily and had a gay old time.  I wasn’t quite ready to order when Pedro came outside, so in haste I opted for the chicken flautitas.  (Read–fried flour tortillas stuffed with chicken and cheese, served with sour cream and guac.)

100_0480

This plate of food disappeared almost too easily, as I ate nearly the whole thing! Yikes!  It was too much and I knew it, but I had trouble saying no and did it anyway.  I also had part of a Cazuela and half of my La Casa. 

100_0481

Just before we left a lady pulled up in her truck, got out smoking, and dropped her cigarette right outside the restaurant door in the barkdust.  I noticed it while going inside to pay the bill and couldn’t help taking a picture of the fire waiting to happen.  I stomped it out, too, of course.  No way I could let it smolder and potentially burn down my favorite restaurant!

100_0482

All this writing and thinking about food is making me hungry.  To eat or not to eat, that is the question?  My choices are somewhat slim, but I could go for an apple, Genisoy crisps, chocolate, granola, crackers, or yogurt.  What shall the winner be??  Or will I abstain since it’s already after 10pm??  Tune in tomorrow to find out!

Ciao 😉

 

2 Responses to “Little Bunny Foo Foo”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Wow, super delicious – I totally love those dollar pancakes!

  2. Armandina Dirollo Says:

    When it comes to aching feet, i always use some topical corticosteroid to relive the pain and swelling that i experience. *.’.’

    Kind thanks http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com“>


Leave a Reply

