The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

One year in! April 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kersten @ 11:05 pm
Tags: , , ,

One year ago I moved out of the employee realm of my company, and into the franchise side with my honey, Chris.   It has been a great year, and the freedom is amazing.  Yippee!  Chris was really sweet–he emailed lots of the people we do business with to tell them it had been a year, and many of them called me to say congratulations.  I had no idea how these people knew, until one of them mentioned his email.  Thanks, honey!

I only photographed part of my eats today; it just didn’t seem right to take pics of the same boring stuff.

Breakfast was picture worthy!  I’m really diggin’ this granola, and must buy more soon.  My bowl is about 3/4 cup pumpkin flax granola, 3 strawberries, and lots of almond milk–I like my cereal mostly flooded 🙂

100_0415

My day didn’t start off too bad, but for some reason I felt kind of nervous and ill-at-ease.  Must have been anticipating that a client would call and irk me!

Lunch was the same thing I’ve eaten every day for like two weeks:  sammie with whole wheat, avocado, romaine, pickle, and peppered turkey; carrot sticks on the side.

When my snacky urges came around this afternoon I first ate a serving of Kashi TLC 7-grain crackers, and then later a Fuji. 

I felt like I was spinning my wheels for awhile this afternoon, but that disappeared eventually and the end of my day was quite productive and positive 🙂 Yay!

Dinner tonight was a mini-celebration of the one-year landmark, so we went to Si Senor and ordered the Si Senor Special:  Grilled steak and chicken breast, shrimp and mushrooms in garlic butter, rice, a cabbage slaw of some sort, flour tortillas, avocado, pico de gallo, and some roasted jalapenos on the side.  Oh yeah!  It was all so yummy!

100_0416

MMM!

100_0417

If you like spice, you must ask for some jalapenos fritos the next time you visit a Mexican restaurant.  Holey moley, they are so tasty and spicy.  I should have photographed them for you… when they come out they look all bubbly and almost burned, but they are incredible. 

I was feeling quite full upon leaving, but mostly because I drank a giant Diet Coke, and a glass of water.  I don’t think I ate too much at least.

Once home I decided I had to snack on 3 marshmallows…I mean, that bag can’t go to waste, right?  And I was just gonna burn them off, right?  Right.

Just before I left I kind of had a revelation–maybe I’m not so motivated to do weight training and work out hard now because I feel kind of like I reached my goal of losing 15-20 lbs. by the time I went to Mexico.  I think I need to set a new goal, and tell you about it, so I have something to motivate me and some people to share my journey with.  So here it is!

New and improved goal:  Significantly improve tone and lose 5-10 pounds more by July 11 for my 10 year high school reunion!  I plan to do more concentrated weight workouts to build definition and strength, and continue with cardio sessions of 45 minutes in length to promote further fat burning.  Sound like a plan!? Let’s go!  Alrighty then.

Did you see the Real Housewives of New Jersey preview?  Whoa!  Looks like it’ll be a pretty intense season.  Hopefully I can catch some of the drama during the season.

With that I leave you, faithful readers.  It is after midnight and I’m shopping on Overstock.com for office furniture, per Miss Caroline’s great suggestion.  Thanks, girl!

 

2 Responses to “One year in!”

  1. Yasmin Says:

    Congrats on the one year anniversary!

  2. carolinebee Says:

    congrats! I can’t wait to see your new purchase(S) 😀


Leave a Reply

