The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Art, sun, and fun (and a funktastic Friday) April 4, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kersten @ 9:31 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Once I read Andrea’s post this morning saying it was supposed to be sunny and warmer, the day suddenly grew brighter 🙂  Thank goodness, because yesterday ended up sucking ass! 

Friday started out innocent enough…rather lazy Friday start, quiet office, and a new oats combination:  steel cut oats, almond milk, PB, raisins, and some Genisoy Protein Shake mix!!  I thought it would be an easy way to add more protein.  Why the shake mix, you ask?  It’s all I have in the protein powder department.  The end result was a little scary looking at first, but when mixed turned out quite well 🙂 That’s my Dark Chocolate hand cream in the background…it was a chocolate morning!

100_03661

Although I ate this mid-morning, I was somehow hungry around 12:30.  I think its because I was working my little brain off all morning.  My sandwich was mostly the same, but I ran out of lunch meat!  With no protein to sub in I added orange bell pepp to my usual pickle, romaine, and avocado.  Sounds weird, but tasted good!  I also had a whole carrot–what’s up, Doc?

100_03671

At some point I ate my grapes while doing some research.

100_0370

I think this is where the day went downhill.  I had a headache all day that wouldn’t go away, and only seemed to get worse in the afternoon.  Staring at a computer screen didn’t seem to help 😐  Chris was also getting funktified from some frustrating client interactions, so our evening was a bit doomed I suppose.

Hold on to your shorts, we went to Fajitas for dinner again.  They were SO busy–busier than we’ve seen them for like a year.  Crazy! I knew I’d be going to work out, so I skipped the booze, but Chris happily drank mine for me.  I had tortilla soup with avocado, jalapenos, and sour cream.  I also had a little bit of my La Casa.

100_0372

100_03731

A little spunk from Chris to provide interest 😉  Thanks, honey. 

After dinner I was one cranky, irrational, PMS ridden beast…quite a force to be reckoned with.  I hit the gym and managed to bust out a full hour of cardio, split between the elliptical and the stair mill.  Whew!  But I still was in a funk.

I was a little out of sorts physically when I got home, and hungry, so I reached for a wholesome snack of a whole wheat bread butt with PB.  I nuked it for a few seconds to warm up the PB, ate a few bites, then decided I needed sugar free raspberry jam on top 🙂  I love that jam…reminds me of Jello (in a good way)!

100_03751

Hunger struck again after a while, but it was too close to bed time and I didn’t wan’t to eat anything.  So I had a peppermint taffy!  That baby was perfect, and so I went to bed 🙂

Saturday

The sun was shining, birds singing, and my ass was in a cheery mood when I woke up.  Phew!  The oats once again had protein powder in them, but not quite as much.  I also added some cinnamon and vanilla extract–yum!

100_03761

I headed out to volunteer at the Metro Earth Day Billboard Art Contest unveiling; this is part of my hours for the Master Recycler program.  I was staffing the denim display, an exercise in upstream thought and education.  I learned some very interesting facts, like the average pair of jeans takes 980 gallons of water to make, and travels 14,000 miles.  Zoikes! (Go Screech ;)) Cotton is also one of the most pesticide intensive crops, with 10.6 lbs used per acre :sick:  The display isn’t meant to pick on jeans, but rather help us think about where the things we use come from, and what resources go into making them along the way.

While at the show I ate some fruit, and then later snagged a few mondo cookies when I was done.  The house is sorely foodless, and I made lunch out of half of each cookie, an apple, and some PB.  Healthy, I know. 

100_03771

Chris’ and Lily’s shadows are in there… 

100_03781

I ate this while sitting outside in the glorious sun!!  It was warm (even hot) and felt so nice.  Chris and I thought about how we could enjoy the weather the next few days, and decided tennis and a meal outside today would be perfect.

We play tennis at a school nearby, and bring Lily along for fun 🙂  She enjoys chasing the balls around the court, and today she was a ball girl!  Whenever she’d retrieve a ball she’d put it at the side of the court by our bag.  It was so cute!  She also enjoyed trying to get the ball during play, and was having so much fun jumping around.  I should have taken a picture….

We had dinner at (surprise) Fajitas, sitting outside this time.  I switched things up a bit and had a chicken taco salad with jalapenos and olives.  I ate about half of the filling, and more than half of the shell.  I also had part of a Cazuela, and part of my La Casa.   

100_0379

100_0380

100_0381

This dinner held me over for quite awhile, but now I just ate a few grapes and opened a packet of Saladitas crackers from Mexico.  I must stock up on more food and snacks this week so I have some good low carb options for night time.  I do believe that eating a bunch of sugar and carbs before bed is not helping my waist line look any better…

With that I leave you!  Happy weekend to you, and I hope the weather is great where you are 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

