The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

La semana segunda en Mexico March 23, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kersten @ 6:57 pm

I’m in freakin’ heaven 🙂  There are still five whole days of vacation ahead of us!!!  Yippee!! 

I’m sorry I haven’t been blogging as much, but the internet connection situation is a little frustrating since we have to pay $8.50 for 24 hours of shitty wireless, or $3.50 per half hour of good wireless/use an internet cafe computer.  Whatevs.

We went horseback riding the other day, and most of what we did was fun.  However, there are some depressing points of being in Mexico, specifically that the animals aren’t as well taken care of, and that there is trash all over the place.  We rode in a dry river bed and in the desert some, and there are tons of places where people have just pulled up in their car or truck and dumped off a load of tires, construction waste, etc.  Strange thing is there are way more advancements in waste management here this year than in previous years–garbage cans for organic garbage, separate places for bottles and cans, etc.  I guess the education part is rather lacking, though, as it is not clear how to use some of the bins and I’m guessing many of the locals aren’t well informed either. 

Yesterday I was a total dope and burned the shiznit out of my ass, and fried my legs and back a bit, too.  Looking at my ass is comical and somehow entertaining, although it does hurt a tad.  After I discovered the redness I whipped up another fruity, boozy beverage.  Nothing like a good bebida to kill the pain, no?

Some of the people we met gave us their left over groceries when they checked out yesterday, and we scored some frozen mangos, juices of durazno and pina, and a multitude of other stuff.  I made a few smoothies with the mangos and durazno juice 🙂  Muy delicioso!

We have enjoyed eating at La Dolce two more times since my last post, and at The Office twice (best burger ever!).  Although there are lots of restaurants to choose from, we are rather glad to revisit the same few we know are good over and over. 

Chris is waiting for me to get ready so we can head out for people-watching and some bebidas…. 

I hope you’re all doing well!  Adios 🙂

 

2 Responses to “La semana segunda en Mexico”

  1. Andrea Says:

    Arghh!!!!!!!!!! I’m so jealous!

  2. Erin Says:

    Where’s the ass photo? 🙂


Leave a Reply

