The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Hola, Amigas! March 18, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kersten @ 5:15 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Hola from Cabo San Lucas, Mexico!  Sun, sand, booze, crazy food, and recreation abound 🙂  I suck, I know. 

Chris’ and my vacation has been really nice so far, and we still have lots of time to sit back, relax, and enjoy getting away from the cold and rain that was Portland when we left. 

I am really happy to report that I feel great in my clothes, I feel okay in a bikini, and I’m still working out while down here.  There is a lot of rich, good food to be had, so I had better keep my arse moving lest it blow up while I’m here!

Our trip down here was smooth sailing, and we got seats in the exit row on both flights 🙂  Chris is 6’2″, so the extra leg room was well appreciated indeed.

What was the first thing we did once we hit got out of customs and the timeshare harangue at the airport?  Have a beer, of course!  And yes, we drank it in the shuttle ride to the airport.  It felt so naughty.

Once at the hotel we had a few more beers…it was happy hour after all, and 2 for 1 Dos Equis sounded pretty good. We also had nachos, which were incredibly tasty and we totally devoured the whole plate.  I even at the tostada cup that the guac came in 😐

We got some groceries that afternoon, and made ourselves a little turkey ham and egg sandwich for dinner.  The grocery store had a giant aisle dedicated to canned fish!  So odd to see…but what was more odd was the huge section of devotional candles!  Erin, I know where you found yours 😉

I found regular Quaker oatmeal at the store, and got some Skippy Roasted Honey Nut Super Chunk to add in.  Pretty good, but I miss my steel cut oats 😦  

We worked out in the a.m.; I’m glad to have the decently equipped workout room available for free.  They have a 30 minute limit programmed into most of the cardio machines, though, so I’ll be doing a bit of rotation there to get in some longer sessions.

Lunch on Monday wasn’t memorable…so let’s skip to the incredibly amazing dinner!  We love La Dolce, and visit it multiple times we’re here each year.  This time around we had a green salad and a pizza with salami, prosciutto, and kalamata olives.  And lots of Parm on top… SO good.

We wandered the Marina area afterward and then headed home around 11:30.

Tuesday was nice, but I was anxious to get out in the sun again.  I don’t go for tanning beds anymore, but put me out on a lounge chair by the pool and I soak that shit up (with SPF, of course 😉 ).

Dinner last night was at Bohai, an Asian restaurant offering Japanese, Thai, Chinese, Indonesian, and other Asian cuisines in a really cool atmosphere.  The service was so fast…my food came in like 5 minutes or less.  I had the Kung Pao chicken and a Dos Equis.

Afterward we went to Ole Ole, a Spanish place on the Marina where there’s a Spanish guitarist/singer we like.  We noticed the Tortilla Espanola on the menu, and had to give it a try along with our 5 beers.  Yummy!

Today breakfast was the same, but lunch was a change–egg white on toast, tortilla with PB, and a yogurt smoothie.  Pretty good!

I’ve been snacking on my Clif bars each day, and I really do like the oatmeal raisin walnut variety I got at Target.  Soft, chewy, full of good stuff, and lots of fiber and protein. 

Today we sat on the beach near the surf, and the cool breeze off of the ocean was great.  I couldn’t get away from the cigarette smoke by the pools, so we decided the beach was better 🙂  After awhile we played football, then came in and ate our leftovers from last night’s dinner.

There have been tons of whales going by each day while we’ve been here, and I’ve gotten some great shots of them breaching.  So cool!  I wish we were on one of those boats!

100_0384

Now it’s time to get ready and hit the town for some people watching and cervezas!  I think I may treat myself to some gelato, as well.  There’s a place called Senor Sweets that has like 50 to choose from, including Straciatella, my favorite. 

I know I’ve been consuming more than at home, but so far so good.  I am really happy that my efforts over the last 5 months have paid off and that I’m smaller, firmer, and happier about my body.  I figure I deserve a few treats, right?

I hope you’re all having a great week!  I’ll try to blog more often now that the internet connection situation is a bit better…the wireless has been down quite a bit over the last few days.  Adios!

 

3 Responses to “Hola, Amigas!”

  1. carolinebee Says:

    AH i wish i was in cabo drinkin!!! 😀 So so fun, I went for spring break- so i didn’t hit up any nice restaurants…my cabo memories (few) include lots of senor frogs, the office, nowhere bar?? haha but so much fun. Love those whale pictures that is SO freakin cool! I’m glad you are so relaxed and at peace and enjoying yourself!!! YAY

  2. Andrea Says:

    Yay! It’s wonderful to hear that you’re having a great time and that you FEEL GOOD about how you’re looking! Can’t wait to hear all about it when you get back!

  3. Erin Says:

    QUE TE PASA?!?!?!?! It looks and sounds like a total pleasure fest! AS IT SHOULD BE! You’ve been working your ass off! I’m so glad ya’ll are relaxing and just enjoying being together and getting some Vitamin D. I can’t wait for more pictures you skinny hot mama. I love you Kerst!


Leave a Reply

