The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Beware of the bitch March 6, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kersten @ 11:19 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Somehow I made it through this week without being much of a PMS ridden monster, but today it came out a few times, esp. tonight.  Rawr!  I was frustrated that like three staff people neglected to do one really important thing at work, and dinner was rather frustrating for many reasons.  More on that later.

The day started off well…tired because I did watch some Graham Norton at midnight and set the alarm for 7, though.  I treated myself to a non-fat vanilla cafe au lait at Starbucks this morning (last of the gift card), and had my oats along with that.  I’ve been wanting more sweetness in my oats, but don’t really want to add fake sweetener.  Did the raisins make it sweeter?  Dunno, but I’ll live without added sweetness.

100_0186

Chris had lunch with a friend, and I didn’t want his sandwich from yesterday to go to waste so I ate half of it.  I will spare you the details, but let’s say it had some unhealthy meat, kalamata olives, roasted red peppers, and a tiny bit of goat cheese.  So yummy!  I also had about half of the apple and grapes.  I ate while building an investment portfolio….ooh la la.

100_0187

That didn’t hold me for very long, so I ate the rest of my fruit around 2:30. 

The rest of my afternoon didn’t feel very productive, and I’m starting to get a little anxious about getting ready to leave work and be on vacation.  I know I’ll be swamped next week with appointments and other work, and I hope I don’t go insane.   

After Chris’ last appointment we headed for Si Senor to meet my mom for dinner.  Everything started off okay, but went downhill.  They’ve tweaked their happy hour menu like 3 times in the last 2 weeks, and we ordered based on what the rules were on Tuesday.  Turns out Chris’ shrimp appetizer isn’t on happy hour, so he ordered Nachos Idaho.  My mom didn’t want sour cream on her quesadilla, and Chris didn’t want guacamole on his dish.  The kitchen mixed that up, but they swapped toppings and everything seemed okay.  Until Chris ate two of his six “nachos” and discovered there were beans in them!  He and I hate most beans, so he was totally disturbed when he realized what that funny taste and texture was.  He is rather farsighted and didn’t see the beans on the menu when he ordered… 

I was getting rather irritated at dinner from my PMS, and I think the touch of alcohol I had made it worse.  I had a Diet Coke,  part of a glass of margarita, some chips & salsa, and a cup of tortilla soup.  I also ate some pickled jalapenos on the side 😉

100_0188

I had to head to the gym to burn off some steam, but decided to visit Target on the way for some cheap entertainment and price research.  The last few times I’ve been in Target I’ve noticed the price of goods was higher than at Fred Meyer; since I need some toiletries and such I thought I’d look at the prices there.  I did find a great deal on Clif bars!  Box o’ six for $5.99, or $1.09 each.  Most of their bars were $1.09 each, which is a better deal than Freddy’s.

The gym wasn’t very busy, and I hopped on the stair sweat mill for a tortuous 45 minutes.  I wanted to wimp out and reduce the intensity for the last 10 minutes, but stuck with it and completed the full 45 at a good pace.  Then I headed upstairs for a puny upper body session, mostly b/c I just wasn’t feeling into the weights tonight.  I did some quick back and biceps, a little bit of abs, then moved out.

My after-workout snack was new–yogurt with protein shake mix.  Since this yogurt is plain the combo reminded me of a mild chocolate cheesecake.  Not the best, but okay considering what it was.  Nice and fluffy at least!

100_0189

I’m still feeling like a pessimistic little bitch over here, so I think I’m going to go to bed and watch some TV.  Sounds like a nice, comfortable way to end my day 🙂  Gotta prep my oats first!!

Nighty night!

 

4 Responses to “Beware of the bitch”

  1. Andrea Says:

    I’m sorry you’re such a bitch 🙂
    Kudos for sticking it out on the stairmill!

  2. carolinebee Says:

    YO i’ve heard bananas make it sweeter, do you put that in them?? I don’t eat oats so don’t hold me to that 😀 THat’s awesome about the stairmill, i prob would’ve let myself roll off in a little fetal ball.

  3. Erin Says:

    I love Andrea’s comment 🙂 Good job on your workout sweetie! Adding a banana would definitely sweeten it up. I usually add vanilla extract, some cinnamon, and half a packet of stevia and my oats taste like heaven!

  4. Kersten Says:

    The banana is almost too sweet, and the texture isn’t my favorite. I think I may have to spring for some stevia…ooh, I forgot about vanilla extract. That sounds great, Erin.

    Yeah, I’m sorry I’m a bitch, too. 👿 Hahaha


Leave a Reply

