The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

I forgot my title March 5, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kersten @ 11:28 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I need to start writing my ideas down…I thought of a great title earlier and cannot remember it for the life of me. 

Today was pretty good 🙂  Except that I forgot to prep my oats last night!  I packed a cereal mess quickly while I was making lunch, and then remembered we had lunch scheduled again today 😐  Ooops.  Whatevs, it worked out okay. 

The cereal mess was shredded wheat and Peace Cereal Essential 10.  Yes, I still have that box from like a few months ago, but it isn’t stale.  Imagine that.  I added 1/2 a banana, and took some almond milk along to pour over it just before eating.  Yummy, but not like the wholesome goodness that is oatmeal.  I’ve been eating oatmeal many times per week for the last 3-4 months, and wonder if I’ll ever get sick of it.  I look forward to it daily 🙂

100_0181

Busy busy bee at work, and hunger struck a bit before our noon lunch meeting.  Since I accidentally made lunch I ate my little, plain-ass sandwich to help out the hunger:  ww bread and peppered turkey. A few carrots as well.

100_0182

We went to Red Lobster again, and I had a garden salad with balsamic vinaigrette again.  No pic today, as the person we met with was someone we don’t know very well, and I didn’t want to seem like too much of a freak (yet). Chris loves salmon, and since I detest it we rarely have it in the house.  He was ecstatic to eat it two days in a row, and I was ecstatic to not have to deal with the smell cooking it at home 🙂

Around 2 I got a little hungry, so I ate my grapes and the rest of my carrots. I love when the grapes are all fresh and crunchy!!

100_0183

More worky worky…today was a lot busier than I thought it would be, but that’s good 😉  I was sort of hungry again around 4:30, but knew we’d be leaving soon to go home and have dinner.

I made fried rice for the first time ever, and I think it turned out okay.  The Trader Joe’s BBQ pork I bought was really fatty, though, so I had to trim out a ton of it.  The whole shebang included ~8oz. pork, 1/2 a carrot, 1/2 an onion, 2 celery stalks, 1 small broccoli crown, 1 clove garlic, 2 eggs, about 3 cups of brown rice, a few dashes of soy sauce, some Nature’s Seasons, and I topped mine with toasted sesame seeds.  This made enough for both of us to eat dinner and have  a little leftover. 

100_0185

Do you ever notice that Chinese food doesn’t leave you full for very long?  It is so weird…Chris and I used to notice this when we’d eat lunch at the Chinese place by work (Royal Panda–it moved!) we’d be hungry like an hour later.  Tonight that meant we could leave to go workout sooner, as Chris didn’t have to digest for two hours.  Yay!

I switched up the order of things and did an hour of cardio first (1/2 stair mill, 1/2 elliptical), and then hit up legs and abs upstairs.  Chris hooped it up for like 1:45!  Wowza!

When I was done I was feeling a little low, so I ate the Luna Berry Almond bar that has been in my gym bag for a few months.  Squished, but still delicious 🙂  No pic since I left the camera at home. 

Now I’m off to bed.  I’m still horrible about getting to bed early enough to get a full night of sleep these days. I’m addicted to The Graham Norton Show on BBC America–he is so funny, and his guests are usually quite entertaining, too.  You should check it out!

 

2 Responses to “I forgot my title”

  1. Erin Says:

    Yay Chris!
    I’m so glad you had a great day!
    I can’t believe you’re an Oregonian and you don’t like salmon!

  2. Maxine Says:

    Love it when grapes are like that too! For me chinese food is actually more filling than other foods-weird!


Leave a Reply

