The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Mostly Monday February 16, 2009

Today being a holiday helped it feel not-so-Monday-ish.  I still worked almost a full day, but work didn’t feel too burdensome or boring.  In fact I was consumed by the same case I was working on Friday, but finally got it done.  Allergies have been plaguing me…can we have a hard rain up here already or what?  It seems all of our moisture is heading south to California and causing quite a bit of nastiness all up and down the state.  Hope those of you in California are staying safe, warm, and dry!

I forgot to prep my oats last night, so I packed some cereal and almond milk for breakfast to eat at work:  1 serving Fred Meyer Shredded Wheat with 1 tbsp raisins, and about 3/4 cup of almond milk. Not too shabby!

100_0040

Around noon Chris wanted to eat, so we sat down and I had a little sando of 1 pc. ww bread with 1/2 wedge LCL and 2 slices peppered turkey; most of a Fuji :); 1 serving Kashi TLC Fire Roasted Vegetable crackers.  I totally forgot greenery at the store, so the sando was lacking vegetable matter completely. Oops.

100_0041

Work work work, finally finished my case, and rewarded myself with a snack of  1 cup Dannon Light’n’Fit vanilla.  Freddy’s finally had vanilla yesterday, but now I think I may prefer strawberry since its got more goin’ on than the ‘nilla.  We’ll see…’nilla is more versatile and I can mix other stuff into it.

When we got home I started preparing dinner:  sauteed pork chops with steamed broccoli & carrots, and oven fried potatoes.  Trusty favorite these days, and tasty.  It is also voluminous (Erin!)without being heavy or highly caloric. 

100_0043

Random fact of the day for you here:  tradable bonds go all the way back to 1171 in Venice!  Holy shit!  For over 100 years they never missed an interest payment.  That is a long time to have bonds around, and a great track record on defaults.  Me and my financial geekery!

Around 7:30 I headed out to the gym, and did the fitnessmagazine.com Bikini Body Workout:  Compete Cardio and Sculptine Routine.  This was a bit tougher, as between sets I had to do a minute of moderate intensity cardio; I did jump rope and jogging in place.  I think I also mis-read the instructions b/c I did three sets of each move, rather than just 1 minute of it and then moving on to the next.  We’ll see if I am nice and sore from it tomorrow 🙂  I followed this up with 45 moderate minutes on the stair mill.  Oh, the sweaty glory 🙂 

Once home a shake was calling my name…”Oh Keeeerrrrstennnn….you know you want me!”  To which I replied, “yes I do!” and proceeded to make a Genisoy Chocolate Protein Shake with chocolate unsweetened almond milk and 1/2 a banana.  SO yummy, rich, and thick!  I like the choc. almond milk since it is a nice tame chocolate taste.  I’ll have to give it a whirl in my cereal or oats, too.

I decided that I hadn’t had quite enough calories, so I had the other half of my nanner and a tiny bit of a.b. as I prepped my oats.

So here we are, the end of the day…. Did you take today off?  Switch up your routine b/c it was a holiday?  Hope you had a great Monday no matter what you did!  Keep it real til next time 🙂

 

6 Responses to “Mostly Monday”

  1. Erin Says:

    Well hi lovey!
    SO GLAD you enjoyed a voluminous meal! It’s the only way to eat! I love feeling really full for some reason!
    You are definitely a geek. The sexy kind!
    I love you!

  2. luckytastebuds Says:

    Mmm what satisfying looking meals you’ve had! I’ve always been curious about the Genisoy shakes (or shakes in general) and am a little scared to try ’em because they come in big tubs and I’m worried I won’t like what I make…but it sounds like you’re totally loving yours! Thanks for sharing the creation. 🙂

    And yayy i love weekday off days!! It gives you time to run errands! and…get your life back on track/organized before another hectic week!

  3. I wish I had the day off!!

    Your shake sounds so yummy (especially after that great workout! Keep it up!)!

  4. carolinebee Says:

    BOOO i’m unemployed, every day is a day off 😦 haha I did have school today though so i’m not totally useless! AND i’m trying to find a job! Great idea to add raisins to the cereal- i freakin looove raisin bran and it’s like, horrible for you! Have a great night 😀

  5. Kersten Says:

    Hey Miss Lucky–I totally felt the same way looking at all of the mondo-sized tubs of protein powder at the store. I’d had a bad experience before buying a big tub, so I went for a smaller one. Genisoy doesn’t have tons of protein, but that’s okay since women can only really digest about 25 grams at once anyway. You should go for it and try some! It wasn’t very expensive either. $12USD at my grocery store.

  6. Kersten Says:

    Thanks Ashley! I am really enjoying the shakes these days… Your encouragement means a lot; I’ve been getting down on my progress a lot lately.


Leave a Reply

