The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Quicky-tricky-icky January 22, 2009

Thursday was busy and productive.  I’m sad to admit I ate out twice today, and will be eating breakfast out tomorrow, too.  Mostly a function of work meetings, but nonetheless a tad depressing and disturbing since I don’t know the nutritional content of my eats.  I’m a control freak in some odd ways, and totally not in others, if you haven’t picked up on that yet.

Today’s breakfast was steel cut oats, almond milk, water, Barney Butter, raisins, and cinnamon.  I also had coffee with Coffeemate, of course.  I must work on finding a substitute for my ickety-ick fake-o Coffeemate.  Love the flavor, and the fact that it is a little sweet, but hate the idea that it is like 100% fake.

100_0001_00

Lunch was a business function downtown at the Governor Hotel, catered by Jake’s Grill, with InvescoAIM.  A great market outlook and economic analysis of the shiz-nit weez been goin thru.  I ate a little bit of clam chowder, mixed greens salad with champagne vinagrette, cumin crusted chicken, roast beef, goat cheese crostini, and olive bread.  Whoa.  And a Diet Coke.  Wooza. 

100_0002_00

All that financial speak made me crave sweetness, so I toured the dessert table and opted for the “healthy” choices:  a small fruit tart and strawberries.

100_0003_00

No one commented about me taking pics…hopefully they didn’t think I was too weird!  I kind sneaked that one of the dessert.

Lunch staved off afternoon hunger for a looooong time, as I worked until like 5:30 without getting hungry.  I had the Dannon Light’n’Fit vanilla with 1/2 a banana and cinnamon that I had packed for the day:

100_0004_00

Chris’ last meeting went on forever, but eventually we were on our way home.  He started speaking of Mexican on the way, and once you mention it and think of it there is no going back.  Off to see Maria we went.

Tortilla soup, a Casuela, and La Casa later I’m feelin’ pretty good, but rather guilty about eating out again as I referenced earlier.

100_0005_00100_0006_00

That little dish held the fresh jalapenos that I scarfed down :0 Spice is nice, no?

Crap, it is 10:30 already.  I didn’t get much relaxing time tonight.  I have three new magazines I haven’t touched, and I somehow am not in the mood to read them lately.  Gourmet, Birds & Blooms, and Vogue are all waiting patiently for me.  Eventually I’ll get there.  Tomorrow is an earlier than usual day so I guess I should just hit the hay.

Before I leave for the night, I hope you all don’t think I’m like mega depressed or anything.  I’m just a bit cynical in this later hour as my Casuela buzz wears off 😐 

Toodle-oo, fellow bloggers!

 

3 Responses to “Quicky-tricky-icky”

  1. Andrea Says:

    Are you going to pilates tomorrow? I have to do 50 minutes of cardio and am going to try to do it before. Or, if you’d like to meet at Bob’s Red Mill for breakfast, I’d be more than willing to push my cardio to later in the day 🙂
    I’m always so jealous of your casuelas!

  2. Sharon Says:

    Oh my gosh, tasty tasty tasty eats! I’m drooling!

  3. Kersten Says:

    Thanks for commenting, Sharon! Yes, this day held many yummy eats 🙂 Almost too many!


Leave a Reply

