The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Wednesday wonders January 21, 2009

Even though I can’t get enough sleep to save myself, I had a great day today.  I woke up a little cranky, but that dissipated by the time I started working around 8:30 🙂

I had a bowl of oats this morning;  I somehow remembered to prep them b/c I knew I wouldn’t have time to eat a bowl of cereal at home.  I snarfed them down while finishing my meeting prep for my 9am conference call:

100_0010

After reading the many Barney Butter reviews out there, and talking with fellow consumers, I somehow think there is a consistency issue in the production of the stuff.  Some say the chunky is like all chunks and no butter, some say it is sweet, and I say it is a little salty.  I like the stuff, but I haven’t had any other AB but store ground, which wasn’t so hot, esp. compared to BB.  Oh well, just a thought.

I worked for about 4 hours and broke for lunch.  Same thing as yesterday, but with a few spoonfuls of cc.

100_0011

It was a colleague’s birthday today, and his sister brought in these bad boys:

100_0012

They were calling my name all afternoon, but I resisted the urge by eating the rest of my apple and working.

100_00131

Before leaving work I had a few quick bites of cc b/c I was getting hungry.

100_0014

I made whole wheat spaghetti with Prego Italian Sausage sauce for dinner (fancy, I know), and forgot to take a pic.  I also added some canned Parmesan on top.

I did a little Master Recycler related reading, and then headed off to the class around 6.  Tonight’s topics were e-cycling (electronic waste) and composting.  Yay!

E-cycling is a huge issue since computers, TVs, and other electronics have a lot of metals that are big contaminants if they get into ground water or are incinerated and get into the air.  The average CRT or TV has 4-6 POUNDS of lead in it!  Holy shit!  I had no idea it was that great.  Another great fact was that 1 ton of e-waste has more gold than 17 tons of gold ore.  Whoa, new meaning to the phrase “gold mine.” 

Composting has been on my mind, and I think I’m going to set up a bin/area in the next few weeks.  Our yard has been abused by someone who shall remain nameless with various pesticides, our soil sucks, and I hate throwing away the food waste and yard debris we produce.  Organic waste breaking down in a landfill will produce methane, but in a compost bin/with oxygen it will not.

I also learned about worm bins, and how easy they are to set up and maintain.  Great for people without much/any yard, with a lot of food scraps, or those who don’t want to deal with composting outside.  Here’s a bin the size of an average curbside recycling bin. 

100_0015

Class let out a little early, and I realized I wanted a snack when I got home.  I had one serving of PB Puffins and almond milk.  🙂

100_0020

Yummy.

Top Chef just came on (which I usually miss b/c of the timing of my MR class), so I’m gonna watch this and hit the hay, yo!

Hope your Wednesday was merry 🙂

 

5 Responses to “Wednesday wonders”

  1. carolinebee Says:

    Those donuts look awwwesome….That’s cool about the compost- my mom does them on and off and the soil is soo much better from the compost heap!

  2. Erin Says:

    I love the idea of the worm bed!

  3. Andrea Says:

    How do you prep your oats? I’ve been thinking of doing this for mornings I go to the gym. I’m tired of bora bora bars for breakfast 🙂

  4. Kersten Says:

    Hey Andrea- At night I put 1/4 cup each steel cut oats, almond milk, and water with 1 tbsp Barney Butter, 1 tbsp raisins, and a few shakes of cinnamon in my reusable container. Then, in the morning I just uncover them and nuke for 2 minutes on high and I’m good to go! They are usually pretty dry after nuking, so I can then add water if I want them to be creamier/gooier. Super easy and fast 🙂 Depending on the type of oats you use you may need to experiment with the amount of fluid you put in for overnight soaking. Bob’s Red Mill Steel Cut Oats don’t absorb as much water as the Fred Meyer bulk steel cut oats. I think I actually prefer the latter.

  5. Hangry Pants Says:

    The donut with the colored jimmies is pretty. Good job resisting and opting for an apple. For real.

    I think the BB is sweet. But at the same time I can see salty too.


Leave a Reply

