The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Right back in the thick of things January 6, 2009

I feel like it has been forever since I had a whole day at work that was productive, didn’t go really slowly, and didn’t involve me wanting to get outta there.  How sad is that?!  Thankfully today was good and 5:30 rolled around before I knew it.

Last night I knew I didn’t prep my oats before I went to bed, but I was too into getting my blog done and then too tired to take the time.  Since I got up a wee bit later anyhow I just decided to have a Luna bar and coffee for breakfast.  The bar was yummy with lots of little crisps in it and pieces of fruit. 

100_0662

Lunch rolled around and I had a lunch you’re probably all bored of seeing:  Flatout sundried tomato with turkey, spinach, rainbow slaw, sliced apple, cracked pepper; lf/ff cottage cheese; Stacy’s Pita Chips; and a Fuji.  Half of the cc was for Chris, and I left some Fuji and chips for later.  Yawn, I know.

100_0663

After a little while something sweet sounded good, so I broke out the saltwater taffy 🙂  I had one piece each of peppermint, vanilla, butter, and cinnamon.  Check out what I did with my cinnamon piece; it was so soft and malleable I couldn’t help it!

100_0666

I found myself getting hungry at some point this afternoon, so I had a little banana.  It was so cute!

100_0667

I like my bananas with a tiny bit of green on them, and no black spots.  They are just too darn mushy and sweet once they start getting black spots.  How do you like your nanas?

As we walked out to the car to leave I ate the last 3 pcs. of my Fuji:
100_0668

I already had dinner in mind when eating the apples, and the execution ended up turning out perfectly.  We had smothered chicken chicken grilled in my fancy new pan with sauteed onions, bell peppers, and jalapenos on top, plus a tiny bit of cheese) and mashed potatoes (mixed with Nature’s Seasons, a spoon of light sour cream, and bit of Smart Balance Light).  Yummmmmm!

100_0669

Oh my god, Dame Edna is on The Graham Norton Show!  I love her character…she’s been around forever on BBC and in entertainment and she’s still knockin’ em dead 🙂  Go, Dame!  I should get some glasses like she’s wearing–rhinestone wings would suit me, no?

I ate my dinner a bit too quickly, but thankfully it was intentionally smaller and I didn’t end up overly full.  Good thing because I had a workout in mind all day!

On the way to the gym I hit a pothole the size of Australia and dented the rim on my front left wheel!!!  Holy shit, how did that not pop my tire?  All that damn ice and freezing weather caused many potholes to open up really wide, and I should have known better since I drive that stretch to the gym all the time.  Shit.  Thankfully the tire guy at Costco said I don’t need to get it replaced, and it is not unsafe.  My spare tire is a full sized wheel just like that one, so I guess I can swap it out if I want.  This whole incident totally pissed me off and made me want to put a cone in the road where that damn hole is. 

My ire gave me a bit of a spark working out, as did listening to Limp Bizkit Significant Other cranked loudly while doing weights 🙂  I hit up the upper bod with some different exercises than I’ve been doing, and with a bit more intensity.  I’m seeing a lot more muscle in my arms, and am sooo glad that the flappin’ triceps aren’t flappin’ so much anymore.  Yay! 

After doing some back, triceps, chest, biceps, shoulders, and abs I headed downstairs for a major cardio sesh: 20 minutes of intervals each on the elliptical, stair mill, and treadmill.  This all added up to one hot, sweaty me and a lot of calories and stress down the tubes.  Double yay!

Yesterday I weighed myself on the gym scale, and I swear the thing knows it is me and refuses to show a weight of less than 153 :shocked:  Boo.  Fuck it!  Thank god I’m seeing progress…hopefully 10 pounds will just fall off soon, and if not, at least I’ll still be toning up, right?  Even with all of this positive thinking I’m still a tad disappointed with not shedding the pounds yet.  I don’t like seeing more than 140 on the scale, and I was the skinniest I’ve been as an adult at 125.  I think 130 would be great.  I was doing more cardio than weights recently, but I read somewhere that doing only cardio can lead to a lower resting metabolic rate, so I have a renewed gusto for the weights now.

Once home I showered, did some recycling, loaded the dishwasher, did the handwash, played with Lily, did some laundry, and here I am watching BBCA.  It is late already! Like 12:30!  Holy shit!  About an hour ago my tummy grumbled and I had another cute little nana:

100_0670

Woops, that pic turned out bigger than expected.  I still am not a master of inserting pics after two months.  Whateva.

Chris is having a fire and sitting on the couch that Lily gets on when we’re gone.  After his beach experience cuddling with Lily on the couch he said he may do it here at home on that couch, and low and behold he is there with her right now!!!!!  SO. CUTE.   Check it out:

100_0674

She is so happy to be snuggling with her daddy right now 🙂  Since Chris doesn’t let her up on the furniture while we’re home she doesn’t get to snuggle with him much (he gets on the floor with her every once in awhile).  I just added another few logs on the fire and she is even cuter.  I’m a little jealous, actually!

My legs are so sore from yesterday already, I’m hobbling around–it’s great!  I miss that super soreness, but have been a little too lazy or easy going on the weights for the last few months.  I really prefer free weights and barbell machines over stack machines for like 90% of my exercises; how about you?

Goodnight and an early happy Tuesday to you!

 

4 Responses to “Right back in the thick of things”

  1. Erin Says:

    What a day girl! I cracked up when I read about the “pothole the size of Australia.” 🙂 You are hysterical.
    I like my naners with NO green and some spots. RIPE! And I don’t like machines that much. I can get really lazy on them.
    That picture of Chris and LB is SO cute. They are so lovey dovey. You guys are the best!
    Remember: positive thoughts = positive results. So when you weigh yourself and the number hasn’t budged, be like FUCK YEAH. I am so damn muscular that my weight hasn’t changed because my flab spots are busy transforming into rock hard muscle bellies. 😉 You will get there girl!

  2. carolinebee Says:

    haha that full frontal banana shot is funny- I loove the bananas with spots, I like the ripeness too! That is SO great u don’t need to replace your tire- DAMN those things are pricey! And ya, the gym scales suck I don’t think they’re right 99% of the time…unless it shows you lost weight, then it’s right 😀

  3. This post has me cracking up bit time!
    The perfect banana has brown speckles all over it, but no huge brown spots where it might have bruised. The riper the better for me!
    Scales suck, but Erin is right – you’re building muscle and that is going to make you weigh more. Good job hitting the weights though because muscle burns calories like nobody’s business 🙂
    I’m going to Zumba tomorrow night if you’d like to join!

  4. Kersten Says:

    You guys are awesome 🙂 Thanks for the encouragement on the weight, working out, and muscle. I know the muscle weighs more and I’m replacing fat weight with lean weight, so I gotta just stay positive like all you rockin’ ladies!!

    Haha…full frontal nana! I thought the same thing, miss Banana Cabana!

    Andrea, I’ve got my Master Recycler course every Wed. nite til March…now Zumba for me 😦 Go shake it for me, tho!!!


Leave a Reply

