The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Glad it’s over… January 6, 2009

Today wasn’t so bad, but started out kinda crappy and didn’t end up a whole lot better.  Personal stuff, business stuff, and client goings on mostly ended up being slightly negative today.  Thankfully nothing huge or life changing, so let’s move on…

Ah, breakfast oats are soothing and oh so good.  I ran out of Bob’s Red Mill steel cut oats and am back to Freddy’s bulk.  Not sure which I like more.  Bob’s are bigger and chewier, but they don’t absorb as much liquid as the bulk oats.  Perhaps I’ll just switch back and forth over time for a little variety here and there. 

Steel cut oats, almond milk, water, raisins, Barney Butter, and cinnamon.  I ate these at home while getting ready this morning since we were running a tad on the later side.

100_0675

I’ve just about killed my first jar of Barney Butter from Christmas.  Wowza.  I like it, but must admit I haven’t had many other nut butters and I am no expert.  I may have to make a special trip to Whole Foods or Trader Joes once I kill the 2nd jar. 

When I booted my computer at work this morning here’s what I was greeted with:

100_0676

Say what?!  Aw, shit, more computer crap?  I called the Technology Help Desk as the message suggested, and they only told me to keep changes.  Say what again?  You want me to keep possibly viral changes?  Shit again.  I did and the computer seemed to work fine until I got my McAfee scan going, when it zonked out, lost the task bar, and froze.  After a reboot and successful scan I think I got all the junk off of it.  Technology is such a pain in the ass.  But it makes my life easier and I love blogging so I ain’t gonna swear it off or anything like that 😉

Chris and I had a lunch appt that boged out this morning, so we ended up going to Red Robin for lunch (danger!!), but only on the condition that we get a teriyaki chicken burger since we always split something and I didn’t want a calorie overload. 

100_0678

I think I got the bigger half, and, yes, I did dip the fries in a little bit of ranch.  Since I don’t like mayo at least I saved a few calories by leaving that off.  I used The Daily Plate to figure out the nutritional content, and it is estimated to be about 480 calories plus the ranch.  Not too bad.

The afternoon had a high point with a great client conversation, and then a lower point with a shitty client conversation–basement flooded and $20k+ of damage not covered by insurance.  For anyone out there who has a sump pump or high ground water, just get flood insurance.  Homeowners insurance won’t cover ground water seeping into a house, so you best not find that out when something shitty has already happened. 

I was hungry around 4pm and had a snack of cottage cheese and a small banana.  I also had tea during the afternoon.

100_0679100_0680

Around 5:30 we headed out to Si Senor, and I forgot to take my camera into the restaurant.  I thought I may be working out later, so I had a big Diet Coke (24 oz!).  I wanted to switch up the menu a bit, so I had two crunchy tacos: one chicken and one picadillo.  I also had chips and salsa, of course

[Imagine two cute crunchy tacos with meat, lettuce, and a tiny bit of cheese here.  Then imagine me adding pickled jalapenos to them for some spice ;)]

Chris and I watched the new Nip/Tuck on FX at 8 (shows come on at east coast time on DirecTV), and man, it was craaaaaaaaaaaazy good!!  I haven’t watched it much for a few years, and I miss it.  I think I may have to get the DVDs to catch up.

Wow, where does the time go?!  It is almost 11 and I need to go to bed.  I haven’t gotten much good sleep for about 5 nights and I miss it.  I also ran out of my cortisol manager supplement that helps me sleep, so that ain’t helpin’ my cause. 

I was going to workout tonight, but my body is sore all over (in a good way) and my knees hurt a bit (in a bad way).  As much as I burn to get healthier, I don’t want to overdo it and set myself back further.  I can’t workout tomorrow night b/c of my first Master Recycler course, but I can still get in 4 or 5 days of workouts this week so skipping tonight isn’t that bad.

On another note, I’m totally aching to start using my kitchen scale!!!  My dad got me a great spring scale that can do liquid or dry foods and came with a pour bowl, but I know Chris’ mom also got me a nice digital one.  We are having Christmas with Chris’ parents on Monday, so I have to wait until then to see which one I like more.  Today I thought about it and since the digital one uses batteries it is not as environmentally friendly as the spring one, but reading and using the digital one may be easier.  What to do?!  Sheesh, the hard decisions I’m faced with, eh?  Vote and let me know what you’d do :0

AMF!  (And if you know what that means say hey-ay! I’m such a crass bitch sometimes ;))

 

2 Responses to “Glad it’s over…”

  1. carolinebee Says:

    HEYYY! haha AH those letters only make me think of turquoise drinks from spring break, never again….

  2. Erin Says:

    I totally get you – bitch. 🙂
    I’d go digital. They’re just better! But I love that you thought of the environmental impact of the batteries. They last a really long time. I’ve never replaced mine and it’s been about 1.5 years!


Leave a Reply

