The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

“Merry New Year!” January 2, 2009

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!  I’m excited to see my blog is getting a lot more traffic these days, mostly courtesy of the bitchin’ babes’ blog, Care To Eat.  Love you ladies!

If you know what movie I’m quoting, let me know!  Love the classic comedies.

Sorry I’ve been absent for a few days…New Year’s Eve I was downloading Spybot on the home computer, and then doing mega scans (which took a few hours to do everything) to make sure I don’t get any more malware.  Last night I was getting ready for the beach, and then the power went out when I was going to blog.

Now I’m at work and am not sure I can get all my pics off of my camera, but I’ll try!  I leave for the beach in a few hours and will again be absent until Sunday night or Monday.

So, back to Wednesday, the 31st:  Chris and I worked a full day, which started out with breakfast at work and plugging along for what felt like several hours too many before heading home.  The eats:
camera-pics-1-2-08-017 The typical steel cut oats and coffee

camera-pics-1-2-08-018 The typical wrap, pita chips, apples, cc

camera-pics-1-2-08-001 Snack of what I didn’t finish for lunch

[Imagine Mexican food from Si Senor here]

At Si Senor I had the Pollo Azado Burrito (HUGE flour tortilla stuffed with grilled chicken, zucchini squash, carrots, onions, tomatoes, celery, bell pepper, and rice, and covered with tomatillo sauce) and an Original Margarita (fresh lime juice, lots of booze).  Mmmmmm…all of it was fresh and tasty.  So sad I forgot the camera since I had the burrito, a new dish. 

My mom didn’t want to be alone on New Year’s Eve, so Lily stayed at her house to keep her company and provide soudn effects for the New Year (Lily barks at fireworks sometimes).  🙂

Chris and I headed home and had a quiet evening of TV and organizing receipts (bleh).  Around 11:30 we cracked open this bottle of Cava:

camera-pics-1-2-08-002 It was only $8.99 at Cost Plus!

Then Chris and I proceeded to ring in the New Year, and have a heated discussion/semi-fight for 2 hours.  Not fun, but I think we’re okay now.  We seem to fight, get it all out, and then are happy the next day even if things weren’t resolved.  Are we weird or what? 

New Year’s Day involved me eating my oatmeal in the car (!!!) on the way to my mom’s house to pick up Lily, but here’s a pic before I left the house:

camera-pics-1-2-08-003

I had hoped to get in a workout after picking LB up, but Chris was rarin’ to go to work.  We putzed around the house for awhile, ate lunch, and then headed out:

camera-pics-1-2-08-004

This lunch was a new take on the new salad I’ve had recently:  spinach, two egg whites, apples, broc slaw, Parmesan cheese, red wine vinegar, ground pepper.  I totally missed the turkey, but it was still good.  My lips were on fire afterward from the acidic vinegar and spicy pepper.  Whoo-ee!

Coming to work sucked, but was rather brief (a few hours).  We had my dad’s birthday dinner, and wanted to work out before that, so we left around 3:15.  My timing totally sucked, and I was only able to get in an intense 20 minutes of cardio 😦  I did intervals on the stairmill, starting at levels 6/9, moving to 9/11, and then coming down to 6/8 and hanging on for dear life at the end.  Wow, that was hard!

Dinner was a fantabulous evening of gluttony at The Heathman Restaurant & Bar in downtown Portland.  Executive Chef Phillipe Boulot creates a wonderful menu full of French Northwest fusion cuisine, borrowing from traditional French techniques while adding in Northwest ingredients.  Bottom line=yummy.  We started with Duval Leroy champagne and moved on to an Oregon Pinot Noir:

camera-pics-1-2-08-005  SO good.

My first course was a pear and goat cheese salad.  Totally not what I expected, but incredibly delicious:  the pear was poached in red wine, I think, and pan seared; slivered almonds complemented the micro greens; and the pomegranate vinaigrette went fabulously with the creamy goat cheese.  I ate it all, but for a few bites given away.

camera-pics-1-2-08-006 Heaven on a plate.

I also had 1/2 a small piece of bread with butter before this.  The butter was so tasty.

Dinner was hanger steak with bordelaise sauce, l’ami louis potatoes, sauteed spinach, and an onion preparation I can’t remember the name of (half an onion hollowed out, filled with greens, cream, herbs, and baked).  Wow, the amount of meat they gave me was insane.  I gave half of it away, and nearly finished the rest of what was on my plate.  Yikes!

camera-pics-1-2-08-007 That’s the onion in the foreground.

Holy moley, that was a good dinner.   But wait, oh no, we were not done by any means!  The dessert & cheese menu was incredibly expansive on this eve…check it out:

camera-pics-1-2-08-008 The left side was desserts, the right side cheese.

For some reason the profiteroles sounded good (pistachio ice cream, chocolate ganache sauce), so I ordered those and a decaf coffee with cream.  Ooh la la.

camera-pics-1-2-08-009camera-pics-1-2-08-011

Here’s some of the other desserts my family ordered:

camera-pics-1-2-08-0101 

Tapioca and prunes brulee.  Light and flavorful.

camera-pics-1-2-08-013 

Guittard chocolate decadence (3 frozen mousses: white chocolate, dark chocolate, and milk chocolate.) The dark chocolate one had salt sprinkled on top–this was a food orgasm for sure!!!

camera-pics-1-2-08-012

Traditional Tiramisu.  ‘Nuf said.

So, all in all I ate a lot, but it was all so good and I didn’t feel too full while we were there.  Alas, on the drive home I kept getting more full and eventually felt uncomfortable for awhile.  I was very glad I was able to get in my small workout at this point.

The evening was chaotic getting everything ready for the beach, and having the power go out 2 or 3 times.  I thought I may be screwed with getting the laundry done, but all was fine.  Chris and I played chess by candlelight 🙂 We also had some sparkling red wine my mom gave us:

camera-pics-1-2-08-014

I went to bed around midnight, and before I knew it 7 am rolled around and I had to get up.  Guess what was outside?!  Snow/sleet!!!!!!!!  Not much, but totally surprising.  Sorry that pic is so dark, but it was really dark outside I suppose. 

camera-pics-1-2-08-015

I had my usual oats this morning again:

camera-pics-1-2-08-016

I’m really liking the nut butter in my oats b/c of the rich flavor and chunks of almonds.  Have you tried nut butter in your oats?  Go for it!

I’m a little nervous about the drive to the beach, as a lot of rivers are at flood stage today, which means one of the highways at the beach may be closed.  I could go another route, but it takes and hour longer to drive.  And, there was a mudslide on Hwy 26 last night, but it seems to have been cleared now.  If you’re in Oregon, this website is really helpful for figuring out traffic and road conditions:  Trip Check

Well, I’m off to get a little more work done and hopefully leave before too long.  I didn’t have any lunch fixins at home, so Chris and I will probably eat at the cafe up the hall from our office.  I’m excited for the beach, as is the Lily Bird 🙂   I’ll take lots of pics and try to post Sunday night for you all to see!

I hope you all are having a good New Year so far, and that you have a great weekend.  Here’s to a year of happiness and health for you all!

 

3 Responses to ““Merry New Year!””

  1. carolinebee Says:

    fun New Years! Dude, that sucks you had to work all those days but that dinner sounds amazing! I have random fights like that too, you just have to let it out sometimes 😀

  2. Your dinner sounds so good! I love poached pears.
    Have a great time at the beach this weekend! So jealous 🙂

  3. Erin Says:

    Whee! It was so fun seeing you Kerst! And I love Lily. She’s sweet, just like mommy. 😉


Leave a Reply

