The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

The booze has got me fiz-izzled! December 23, 2008

Today was a nice relaxing day for the most part that started out well and is going to end with a repeat of Top Chef I missed over the last few weeks.  I forgot to tell you I kicked my foot into the foot of the couch yesterday, and my foot ain’t so happy.  Can I say foot more in one sentence?

I decided not to have my usual oatmeal for breakfast today, instead opting for Quaker Oatmeal Squares with almond milk and banana.  I picked up the box of cereal yesterday for only $2!  They are usually $4.59 or so; if I had room I’d have bought more probably.  I hate how expensive cereal is.

100_02331

Not sure what I did all morning… walked Lily out in the street I think, was online some, and did a few things around the house.  Eventually I made Chris lunch, and contemplated what to do for myself.

I settled on a new salad:  spinach, chopped turkey lunch meat, a chopped cooked egg white, a few slices of chopped apple, red wine vinegar, salt, and pepper.  So tasty!!  I also had the rest of the Fuji apple on the side.

100_0234

This didn’t have much staying power, so shortly thereafter I had ~1/2 cup of lf/ff cottage cheese.

100_0270

Chris spotted a varied thrush in our yard while I was cleaning up the kitchen!!  We haven’t seen one in the yard for a few years, so we were quite happy to spot her. She stayed around all afternoon 🙂  We also had a new bird today–a white crowned sparrow.  Nifty!

100_0263

The ice didn’t seem as bad today, so we let Lily have the run of the yard.  After hearing that my mom’s neighbor’s dog nearly severed a toe b/c of the ice I was super anal about clearing an area and only walking her on the leash in that area.  She was very happy to get to play ball and romp around.

100_0272100_0285

My hands and feet got really cold all of a sudden, and when I came in hot cocoa sounded really good.  I mixed some almond milk, cocoa, and tiny bit of sugar (why did I even bother??), microwaved it, and then ended up adding some whipped cream on top.  Yummy!  The almond milk was a great base and added that much more depth to the drink.  This was the first time I used almond milk in a hot beverage application.  I also had half a nana shortly after this.

100_0296

Chris mentioned walking to the Mexican restaurant, and at first I thought he was kidding, but not so.  After he cleared the snow off of our wood shed we got ready and headed out.  The compacted snow was slippery in areas, but the walk was good.  I felt like I was speed walking to keep up with Chris, as he is 6’2″ and I’m 5’5″, so I had to tell him to slow down here and there. 

We had our usual round of Casuelas, and I had tortilla soup sin crema, con un poco de queso, solamente jalapenos a parte.  Mmmmm.  Another epiphany came to me as we ate…the 1/2 pitcher of Casuela that I usually drink is also killing my diet.  Doesn’t seem like much, but ~24oz. of fruit juice and booze 2x/week adds up to 700+ cals.  Eeeeeeeeeek!  And the La Casa (ice cream, milk, Bailey’s, cinnamon) ain’t helpin’ either.  Scheize.

100_0298 My Casuela100_0300 Soupie soupie!100_0303 La Casa

Our walk home was nice, and somewhat entertaining when we saw 3 semi trucks stuck at the light in one intersection.  Woops!

Lily enjoyed playing a ton when we got home, and now we’re watching Law & Order.  Can’t believe Christmas Eve is tomorrow, and that I have NO GIFTS for most people on my list.  Double woops. 

I sent my Secret Santa gift last Wednesday via Priority Mail, and my recipient hasn’t received it yet 😦  I didn’t get delivery confirmation, but hopefully she gets it tomorrow.  I just hope it isn’t lost 😦  I’ll be sure to keep you posted when I receive mine, too 😉

Well, off I go to get comfy and watch Top Chef.  Hope you all had a great Tuesday!

 

4 Responses to “The booze has got me fiz-izzled!”

  1. eatingbender Says:

    Lily is adorable! And your hot chocolate with almond milk sounds really good. I’m going to have to try that soon!

    Oh liquid calories – it’s amazing how fast they add up! But wow do both of those drinks sound good!

    Good luck with the gift search 😉

  2. Erin Says:

    Chris will do anything for Mexican food apparently!

  3. When we get hefty snow, Scott will shovel a path in the yard for Rocks so he can walk around and go potty. 😀 Doggie booties will help protect Lily’s toesies. Rocky hates his but forgets all about them when he’s outside running around. LOL

    Happy Holidays Kersten!

  4. Kersten Says:

    Erin–yes, Chris will do anything to get Mexican food at our favorite places!! Maria is always calling him 😉

    Andrea–what kind of booties did you get Rocky? I looked at some at PetSmart last year, but was skeptical. Tell me more!


Leave a Reply

