The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Mixed eats December 17, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kersten @ 10:43 am

I didn’t post last night because I was SOOOOO tired.  I’m home today from work because the weather is too much of an unknown, and I’ll be damned if I get stuck on the other side of town. 

Yesterday morning started with playing outside with Lily, then a big bowl of Bob’s steel cut oats with raisins, almond milk, cinnamon, and a spoon of almond butter stirred in while hot.  (I had coffee too, of course!) I definitely noticed the difference between the Freddy’s bulk oats and these now that I switched back to Bob’s.  Bob’s has much bigger oat pcs.

100_00063

I love how pre-soaking the raisins with the oats and almond milk makes them plump up!  They are all juicy and round usually.

After breakfast I don’t remember the next few hours.  Bloggin? Playin outside?  Chris had been trying to reschedule an appt. with a client b/c of the weather, but hadn’t gotten a response, so all of a sudden at 12:15 we blew outta here and went to work.  I grabbed a few random things to eat for lunch, and ate around 1:30.

100_00073

I had lf/ff cottage cheese mixed, a Fuji apple, and one slice of turkey.  That didn’t hold me over totally, and when we left work around 3:15 I grabbed a homemade chocolate chip cookie a coworker made.  Luxuriously yummy!

100_00084

I tried to savor it but was in the car and talking at the same time, so I probably ate it faster than I should have for utmost enjoyment.

Chris shared with me he wanted to eat Mexican again b/c we may be housebound for a few days, and I wasn’t too excited about that b/c it would interfere with me getting to the gym.  Hmmph.  It was either don’t go eat with him and workout, or eat with him and not workout.  Neither was good, and I said I’d go eat with him later.

I was still hungry when we got home (loooong drive of an hour b/c of traffic), and had a phone appointment coming up, so I heated up two muffins and smeared ’em with Smart Balance Light. 

100_00092

That hit the spot.  I had my meeting, and then we left for Fajitas.  It was really busy!  Everyone getting out before the storm?  I had my very typical dinner:  casuela and tortilla soup.  I had a little bit of cheese in the soup this time.  Mmmm.

Drinky drinky!
Jalapenos and avocado rule

Jalapenos and avocado rule

 All was tasty, but I felt so bloated afterward!  Fluid overload!  We went to Costco, and then Fred Meyer, to pick up some staples before the storm.  Both places were really busy, and Freddy’s was just about totally cleaned out of meat, eggs, and bread.  Of course, all the healthy stuff like fruits, veggies, whole grains, and low-fat dairy were still in high supply.  That meant I got all I needed 🙂  I picked a new cereal you’ll see later on in my recap of Wednesday. 

After getting home I felt soooo tired, and resigned to having some wine and watching Law & Order, then Mash.  The wine was great, and I fell asleep on the couch around 11.  Nice comfy end to the day 🙂

100_0029

Check out the HUGE Fuji apples from Costco in the background.  They were only $6.49 for like 12 apples (like 10 pounds since they’re so huge).  INSANE deal.  Organics are the same price, too!  Here’s greater detail for you:

100_00301

Holy shit I just had deja vu while re-reading my post.  Deja vu is so weird!  Almost creepy feeling for me sometimes.  Did this already happen?  Ah!

Have a great day!

 

3 Responses to “Mixed eats”

  1. carolinebee Says:

    I don’t GET deja vu!?? what is it..i don’t think I’ve had it, obviously. Costco is a jackpot for fruit! AND i have those insanely great wine glasses!! No stem= no knocking over 😀

  2. Kersten Says:

    Deja vu is experiencing something you’re certain you’ve already seen/done before, exactly. Here’s how Wikipedia defines it: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/D%C3%A9j%C3%A0_vu

    Yeah, love the stemless glasses! Esp. b/c I can put them in the dishwasher without worry, too! 🙂

    I need to go to Costco more for fruit/veg. Haven’t browsed the frozen food area much lately. Maybe they have some good organic and/or healthy items I could use, too.

  3. eatingbender Says:

    I love those stemless glasses! I just got a few cheap at Crate&Barrel – who knew you could get a deal there?!

    That tortilla soup looks amazing with all of that avocado!


Leave a Reply

