The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Phew, the weekend is here December 12, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kersten @ 9:25 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Today went from good to bad several times, and overall I feel a bit discombobulated!  I’ve just been a total mess the last few days it seems, from physical dexterity (like spilling water all over myself twice at the gym today), to being an emotional weirdo.  I am hoping this all passes soon.  PMS be damned. 

What’s the weather like where you are?  Whoa, 103mph wind gust on Mt. Hood today!  Weather is getting a little hairy here, with major cold rolling in Sunday.  We’re expecting the longest and coldest winter spell since 1990 is what the news is saying!! Oy vey!  I was 9 and don’t remember what 1990 was like.

Anyhow, here’s the start of my poopy-ish day:  I was awakened to hear Chris making coffee, and thought it was like 5.  Not so…my alarm went off a minute later.  Get up, now?  Ugh. I was tired, Chris has another cold, and I wanted to go back to bed.  Didn’t happen.  So I got ready, and then saw that I forgot to prep my oatmeal last night 😦 Boo!  So I grabbed a cup of coffee and we left for a short work day.

Work was fine, but without my oats I felt a bit lost.  I finished my coffee and wondered what the hell I was going to eat.  I remembered I left 1/2 an apple in the fridge, so I ate that. 

100_0038

Nevermind that I totally forgot/didn’t even see my office mate keeps a box of instant oatmeal on the fridge.  Duh.  Chris reminded me that I had a bar in my desk, so down that went.

100_0039

That’s an osprey on my computer screen.  They are so big and beautiful… they summer up here and we see them build nests on cell towers near lakes and rivers.  We’ve even seen them carrying fish back to their nests! 

Worked for a few more hours and left around 12:30.  Chris asked if we could have burgers for lunch, and it didn’t sound so great.  But, then I started thinking about ways to make it a little more healthy and thought my friend cottage cheese may play a part in that.  I made Chris’ burger first, and nearly died watching him load his bun with mayo, especially since it splucked all over the place.  Bleh!  Next I made mine… 1/4 lb 93% lean beef, Nature’s Seasoning, few tbsp ff/lf cottage cheese, spinach, whole wheat bun, with some carrots and Stacy’s Pita Chips on the side.  Pretty yummy and filling!  Oh, and I had organic ketchup on it, too.

100_0041

I felt rather poo-ey at this point.  Down and blah, and thought I should go work out to see if that helped. I had to do laundry, and while getting dressed I nearly cried.  When I looked down and saw my stomach while changing it seemed bigger and flabbier 😦 That didn’t help my mood.  I eventually left and ended up doing a full hour of cardio on the elliptical.  Not sure I should have, because the body was a bit sluggish with a few hip, knee, and back twinges here and there, but I felt accomplished at the end.  I weighed myself, and think I have lost a few pounds.  24 Hr fixed the scale in the women’s locker room, but it still seems a little wacky.  I think I’ve lost 3-5 lbs tho 🙂  That made me somewhat optimistic.

And then I felt like shit when I got home b/c of ???  I had a small pre-dinner snack since I was getting hungry:  Dannon Light & Fit vanilla with slivered almonds and cinnamon.  Mmmm.

100_0057

After getting cleaned up I proceeded to make a chicken stir fry, and felt even shittier.  Allergies? Low blood sugar?  Mack truck hit me?  WTF?  I hate feeling that way.  The stir fry had chicken, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, green bell pepper, broc slaw, teriyaki & stir fry sauces,  and sesame seeds.  I desperately wished I had some Sriracha at this point.

100_0058

I got through about half of this before giving up and going to lay down and watch TV.  Eventually I started feeling better, and was hungry again.  That’s when my friend cottage cheese came to the rescue 🙂  Ff/lf cc mix with some Stacy’s on the side.  This little wonder snack made me feel even better–yay!

100_0059

Now I’m watching Lipstick Jungle and could possibly be getting hungry again.  I’m starting to feel like a bottomless pit, with a headache suddenly.  Bleh.  When will it end!?  It dawned on me earlier that I have not been good about taking my throid remedy the last few weeks.  That could be catching up with me but doesn’t explain the allergy/cold symptoms. 

Holy shit Lily will not leave me alone.  Enjoy these while I go let her out…

100_0055

100_0047

Okay, I’m back, and I ate a chocolate caramel while I was gone!  They were a gift from a colleague, and thankfully Chris already ate most of them 🙂  It was so yummy!  No pic, sorry. 

Alrighty, off I go.  Hope you’ve all enjoyed your Friday night!

 

4 Responses to “Phew, the weekend is here”

  1. Andrea Says:

    Sorry about all the ups and downs 😦 PMS is a raging bitch and it likes to spread the joy!
    I’m looking forward to tomorrow morning!

  2. carolinebee Says:

    sorry about the crappers day- but your burger idea is gooood! Man, my 24 hr is such a piece of crap, the scales are ALL broken, as are all the drinking fountains and random machines 😀 haha have a good weekend! and cool bird…

  3. Erin Says:

    I’m so sorry babykins! Your body is happy that you’re taking such good care of it. So don’t think means thoughts about your tummy. You’re doing SUCH a good job and you will always be beautiful because you have a HEART OF GOLD and a beautiful spirit.
    You are SO KICK ASS!
    Remember the scale in the Pearl? It was a full 10 lbs more than mine AND my parents, so fuck that.
    I LOVE YOU TO DEATH!

  4. Kersten Says:

    Aw, you are all so kind 🙂 Thanks, ladies! Erin, you are so sweet… no words can fully describe how awesome you are! Wow, the scale in the Pearl was that far off??? Yeah, I pretty much am feeling like f’ing the scales, but I’m curious about progress. Guess I need to just use how clothes fit as a guide, and perhaps do some measuring of body parts instead of weighing. Sometimes I feel like I’m getting nowhere, and seek the scale for reassurance only to be left feeling pooey. Fuck that indeed.


Leave a Reply

