The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Wrapping up the weekend December 8, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kersten @ 12:12 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Well friends, ’twas a busy weekend and I’m now finally able to post for Saturday and Sunday.  I had a nice weekend overall, and am glad to have accomplished some good things, but am disappointed in myself for over eating in certain bad ways.  Read on.

Saturday

I finally slept well and had to drag my arse out of bed to get going and make sure I was awake for Pilates.  I heated my oats, which were switched up a bit:  steel cut oats, pumpkin spice Silk, water, pumpkin, cinnamon, and pinch of salt.  Not sure I liked the texture so much…a little too gooey for me.

100_0001_18 100_0002_18

Pretty cinnamon swirl 🙂  Thought I’d showcase my trusty Coffee-mate, too.  BTW, I added a tsp or tbsp of the Coffee-mate to my oats for sweetness.  Sounds gross, but works well.  I used to do that a lot in my old office. 

It was SO cold–like 20 something and frosty–yesterday morning.  I took a pic showing how white the grass was, but not sure if you can tell.

100_0005_17 “Hurry up, Mommy, my toes are cold!”

Pilates was good, but not quite as intense as when Karlyn teaches.  I also did 45 minutes of cardio on the elliptical and felt accomplished.  I totally need to do more weights, tho! 

Afterward I headed to a local Christmas tree lot (5′ Doug Fir for $15!!), and then Freddy’s for the weekly grocery trip, and was amazed at how busy it was.  I jumped in the U-Scan line even tho I had ~20 items, as it was deserted.  I hate waiting in the regular lines. 

I was ravenous when I got home, and made one of my new trusty wraps you’re probably bored of seeing:  low fat tortilla, 1/2 wedge LCL, 1 scrambled egg, spinach, broc slaw.  I also had some cottage cheese 🙂  I snacked on an apple and the tiny remnant of ff cc that was left while cooking.

 100_0006_17100_0007_17

Yum.  I cleaned, played with the LB, and organized around the house a bit before deciding I needed a snack of the other half of my LCL wedge and Food Should Taste Good chips.

100_0011_13

Mmmmm.  I’m still amazed at how yummy LCL is.  Thanks a million to Erin at Care To Eat for this and her other awesome eats 🙂

What did I do next?  Not sure.  Oh, I know, I FINALLY took a few minutes to use a blow dryer with diffuser to dry my hair and was happy with the results.  Volume, baby!  My hair is baby fine and rather thin, so volume is a rather foreign concept.  Oh, we also watched “Dexter” on Showtime and it was great!  I think we’re hooked.

We headed out to dinner at Imperial Garden, a local Chinese place.  I knew we’d be tempted by all sorts of food at our party later, but figured that starting off with a full stomach would help me resist the temptations.  Chris and I shared two appetizers and one entree:  BBQ pork, fried shrimp (LOVE fried shrimp), and Kung Pao chicken.  Everything was good, but I ate a little bit too much.

100_0012_13100_0013_11100_0015_11  Who dat?

Notice the annihilated food (or lack thereof) behind my fortune! 

We headed off to Chad & Chelsea’s for the par-tay, and overall had a good time.  Chelsea always gets lots of food and a huge bar, so there was no lack of calories to be consumed if that was one’s prerogative.  I successfully avoided the goodies until about 10, when I had a piece of peppermint bark. It went downhill from there.  Rob and Erin know why…

100_0021_07100_0022_07100_0023_08

The 2nd pic is bread with hummus, and the 3rd pic is what was left of the table around 11.  I had another piece of peppermint bark, bread with hummus, bread with olive oil, red pepper with hummus, vanilla ring cake, a few tootsie rolls, a few Jolly Ranchers, and a few bebidas.  Somehow I avoided the Doritos and cupcakes, thankfully.  For drinking I mostly stuck to club soda with a splash of pina colada juice, but added vodka in here and there.  One word to describe what happened food-wise: disaster.  I felt guilty, disgusted with my lack of control, and upset that I noshed on so much stuff!  Yet I kept on eating.  😦  We left around midnight.  It was fun to see everyone, but I totally didn’t get pics of anyone!  I’m such a dork in that dept. now that I’m focused on photographing my food.

Sunday

I woke up today feeling a bad-food-induced hangover.  It was tough to get out of bed, but yoga was calling my name and I was really looking forward to it.  I had a bowl of cereal since I (of course) did not prep my oats last night.  All Bran Strawberry Medley with unsweetened original almond milk.  And a cup of coffee.

100_0024_07

I got to the gym just in time for yoga, and found a spot at the back of the super crowded room next to Megan S. 🙂  Hi!  I was feeling challenged by the moves b/c of my “hangover,” but persevered and was glad I went. 

Next stop, Costco for some Stacy’s Pita Chips (the BEST chips I think), coffee, and a spankin’ deal on a 3-pack of Calvin Klein tank tops for $14.99.  You should have seen my workout garb today–about two sizes too tight and also too short.  😦  Dirty laundry is to blame.

Lunch was a little different–scrambled egg on one slice whole wheat toast, spread with 1/2 wedge LCL, topped with spinach.  I also had about 1/2 cup of ff and lf cottage cheese mixed, and some Stacy’s chips. 

100_0025_06

I was tired, but looked forward to decorating the Christmas tree 🙂  The Doug Firs are bushier, without much space within to hang things, so the overall look is different.  But, pretty 🙂

100_0040_01 Sorry, a tad blurry.

Chris and I had a quick, easy dinner consisting of sauteed chicken breast and brown rice made with a can of stewed Italian tomatoes.  Easy and good.  I sprinkled a little canned Parmesan on top for shits and giggles (not pictured).

100_0048_00

Off we went to the Louis Vuitton holiday gathering.  Yes, I know…LV, the most hoity toity malletier I could find, right?  Well, the mom has a history of gifting such things to me and I must admit I like them.  No, I can’t afford the stuff myself right now, but would love many of their items for my collection. 

I had champagne, a few mini-quiche, a macaroon (!), and a few little chocolate truffles (!).  Great, another bad eating night, I thought.  More champagne to kill the conscience.  I enjoyed looking at all the fineries I can’t afford, and speaking some Nihongo with the store associates. 

100_0051_00100_0050_00

That’s me, my macaroon, and my champagne; and me and my mom (along with some poor guy we captured–sorry dude). 

Just watched the new Dexter–fabu!  Too bad we didn’t have Showtime previously.  Oh, I’m also enjoying some wine, and just grabbed a few Stacy’s Pita Chips.  (The insanity continues.)

I’m honestly looking forward to this week (weekdays, specifically) since I can control my eating/diet much more effectively during my regular routine.  I really want to lose weight, I know I chose the wrong season to start, but I’m still determined.   Here’s to a better week.

 

One Response to “Wrapping up the weekend”

  1. Erin Says:

    Oh Kerst, you’re breaking my heart! Please don’t beat yourself up! Overeating and indulging happens and there’s no way that your two nights are going to make you gain. It is SO okay beautiful. You and your mommy look fabulous. I hope you THOROUGHLY enjoyed your wknd and I love you so much!


Leave a Reply

