The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

The humanity! December 3, 2008

Today started off great, but the lack of manners, class, and common decency witnessed after 7pm just about killed me.  Brace yourselves for my rant in the latter half of this post.

So, got up to go to work and the man & I decided to sleep longer 🙂  Yay.  I fell back asleep for like 1 1/2 hours, and had some crazy vivid dreams.  When I finally dragged my arse out of bed I made coffee and heated my oatmeal.  I mixed in more cottage cheese but forgot my almonds.  All in all, a yummy start to the day.  While I made this I was on the phone with DirecTV per the promo letter I received–they’re giving us $10/mo off for 12 mos, and free Showtime and Starz for 6 months.  Sign me up!

100_0001_15

I worked from home for a few hours (aka blogged and sorta checked my email and news), but the company website and applications were on the fritz today so I got frustrated and mostly blogged.  After I packed lunch I went to the office, and ended up eating around 1:40.  Typical wrap for lunch (low fat tortilla, 1/2 wedge LCL, turkey, spinach, and broc slaw), a little bit of cottage cheese (all that was left!), and half an apple.  That hit the spot 🙂

100_0002_15

I worked for a bit, chatted with my office mate, and just now realized I forgot to contact a client about something.  Shoot.  Anyway, I ate the other half of my apple around 3:45, mostly because I knew I should have something to support my brain power for my 4pm meeting.  Forgot to take a pic, tho.

[imagine apple here :)]

My meeting went well, and I headed on home starting to get hungry.  Thankfully traffic was not bad at all, otherwise I would have been frustrated by that fo sho.  Lily was so cute when I got home…her little wiggly greeting will never get old 😀

I cooked up chicken breast and green beans for dinner, hoping it would be light enough that I could work out sooner than later.  I probably should have had more calories for dinner; not until later did I realize this was fewer than I was going for.

100_0003_15

Chris and I watched Showtime for a little while, and I headed off to the gym.  Here’s where “the humanity” got to me… A nice guy opened the front door for me, and all began well.  The gym was packed.  I started with a quick warm up on the treadmill, then began to bust out legs superset style.  Here I was annoyed by two girls chatting it up while one of them *barely* worked out on a leg curl machine.  I wasn’t using that machine, but ones on either side of it.  They were there for like 10 minutes doing nothing and totally oblivious.  Grrr.  C’mon, if you’re gonna be at the gym can ya please work out and not just take up space?

My supersetting didn’t go so well since it was so busy, but that didn’t upset me.  Next frustration was a meathead doing tricep rope extensions–I didn’t know he was using that particular stack (no water bottle/towel/keys/etc.), but during my first set I noticed he was standing rightnexttome.  When I finished he said “I was using that” and practically pushed me out of the way to get on it.  Fucker.  There were only 3 other open stacks at the time.  So I took an open one.  I was glad to head downstairs for cardio after that.

The cardio machines were TOTALLY FULL.  I didn’t want to go upstairs to use the non-TV machines, so I just waited for a minute.  First I was going to use a stair mill, but the chick getting off of it took about 5 minutes to stretch on the damn thing instead of moving on. Her crime:  being totally oblivious to the fact that people were waiting to use the machines.

So, I took an elliptical that opened up and started cruising.  Phew.  TV worked, closed captioning was on(not sure how you turn it on but I prefer it since I listen to music on the iPod at the same time). Next, I see two cheerleaders (t-shirts had high school cheer squad on them) do some “cardio:” they fucked around on two machines in front of me for about 5 minutes, one of them putting both of her feet on one footpad and pumping with her arms like a kid. The other one looked like she was made up to go to prom–not exactly indicative of someone who is trying to work out. Their crime:  not being serious about what they were doing.

Next, fat man with no t-shirt pacing around on his phone in front of the cardio area.  Ewwwwwwwwwwww.  He had some nasty body hair, too.  It was one of those things where you try not to look but somehow still do every once in awhile.  I think most of the people on the machines were trying to keep their dinner down.

Lastly, young asshole spits in the recycling bin.  Grrrrrrrrrr.  Is it that hard to read “recycling” in big letters on the side?

By this time I got to my 45 minute goal and got the hay out of there.  At least the cardio was good 🙂

I stopped at Freddy’s on the way home, only to be annoyed by sick kids coughing and sniffling and not doing anything to keep their germs to themselves, and young assholes who tried to cut in front of me at the self-scan.  But I saw they now carry Flat Out! wraps!!!  I’ll have to try those when I run out of tortillas.

At least I got my cottage cheese, and a d’anjou pear :), and got home safely.  I swear, it is evenings like these that make me want to give up on human kind.  I guess I believe in karma, and just figure if they’re putting out negative energy they’re going to get some back.  Hopefully my annoyed ass wasn’t putting out a bad vibe…

After I cleaned up I had a snack of 1/2 cup fat free cottage cheese mixed with 1/2 cup lowfat cottage cheese, and some Food Should Taste Good chips.  My little bowl runneth over!  Yummy and satisfying. 

100_0004_15

My eBay auctions all ended tonight, and I sold 13 of 16 items!  Yay!

So I leave you my trusty bloggers.  Sorry I wasn’t in a great mood when writing this tonight, but thanks for reading anyway 🙂  Hopefully some of you will share your experiences or feedback with me, I would appreciate it a lot.

 

8 Responses to “The humanity!”

  1. Julz Says:

    Wow. Haha this was intense! I feel bad for those people— Sorry, but I do! I hope your day is better today!

  2. Erin Says:

    Oh no! You definitely still have that sassy side! 🙂 I’m glad you got home and ate some cc. Good for the soul!

  3. Andrea Says:

    You crack me up! I shouldn’t be laughing but I totally feel for you. Not having courtesy at the gym is a huge pet peeve for me too!
    Hey, Zumba is tonight at 24 and I’ve never tried it before – any chance you’d want to go with me?

  4. Kersten Says:

    Hmmm…Zumba should work out (no pun intended) 🙂 I’m going to my mom’s for dinner, which should be on the early side, but I’m not sure. I should be able to get home, change, and make it to the gym by 7:30. I was planning on working out anyhow tonight. Sounds like fun!

  5. Kersten Says:

    Julz-Thanks for delurking 🙂 I feel bad for the people, too, but am mostly annoyed 👿

    Erin-Sassy sista here fo sho! The cc has been quite a treat, or so it seems.

    Andrea-glad you laughed! I totally laughed re-reading the post. Hopefully tonight we won’t get peeved at gym peeps. I’m sure they’ll be annoyed watching me be uncordinated in class.

  6. Kersten Says:

    *uncoordianted* that is. dorky dork here today.

  7. carolinebee Says:

    I’m eager to see how the Zumba goes- i can’t find it in my neck of the woods…your gym story is QUITE the tale, and hilarious 😀 I always wind up there at MEATHEAD hour and i just want them to BEAT IT!! My peeve are the guys who just stand, posted up on the wall or something and think its fine to either STARE at girls or make awkward eye contact. haha with my budget i have no hope of a personal gym so i’ll just have to suffer along 😀

  8. Kersten Says:

    Sweet jesus, I couldn’t even spell *uncoordinated* right the second time. really must have been off that day.

    Zumba was fun! It is Latin and hip-hop combined it seems, with good music and lots of booty shakin. Ah, the gym oglers…I like to stare back with an intimidating look on my face. I hate meatheads.


Leave a Reply

