The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

S-S-S-S-Saturday November 29, 2008

Today did not feel like Saturday at all, more like Sunday I suppose.  I was tired and a little cranky last night after I posted, and I went to bed around midnight.  The last few weeks I have had a hard time warming up in bed, even with the quilt and a blanket, so I wore a long-sleeved shirt last night and that helped a lot 🙂

I woke up maybe around 7, but stayed in bed and dozed in and out until about 8:45, when I realized I had better get going to be awake and make it to pilates at 10 on time.  I started the coffee, poured a bowl of All Bran Strawberry Medley with almond milk, and headed outside to play with Lily.  I totally forgot to take a pic until after I ate.  Oops.

[imagine cereal here]

Andrea (at Care To Eat) said she’d try to be at pilates, and she was there!  I was surprised b/c I thought she went to a different location of 24 Hour Fitness, but it was good to have someone I knew there in class 🙂  Go Andrea!  After class I did 40 minutes of cardio on the elliptical, then headed home in a state that told me I needed food even though I wasn’t hungry. 

What to make, what to make…??? Wrap? Leftovers? Eggs?  I ended up making a wrap with a 1/2 wedge Laughing Cow Light, one lightly scrambled egg, spinach, and broc slaw.  I knew I wanted an apple, so I decided to try one with some cottage cheese.  It was a good combo, but the apple wasn’t that great so I only ate half of it.

100_0002_13

I began busting out housework so I wouldn’t have to do any tomorrow (yay!), and got quite a bit done.  I hit a wall around 2 and was insanely tired.  Are the last 2-3 days of activity catching up to me? Did I overdo it? Am I just tired?  I don’t know… I was also getting a tad hungry already, so I turned to my new friend, cottage cheese.  Can’t believe I’m eating it! I’ve been missing out for the last 27 years. 

100_0004_13

I had Food Should Be Good multigrain chips with it, and it worked out well.  As I ate this I watched Hell’s Kitchen reruns on Fox Reality, and caught the last season finale.  I thought I may fall asleep on the couch, but ended up staying awake and watching the whole thing while tending the laundry on commercials.

Chris suggested we go to Fajitas (neighborhood Mexican restaurant) for dinner, and I was kind of relieved since that meant I wouldn’t have to cook.  Tortilla soup sounded good, so I did indeed order that with a Casuela, too.

100_0006_13100_0008_131

I added lots of jalapenos to my soup, and ix-nayed the sour cream.  I loved the fiery mouth effect of the peppers! My inner ears started to feel hot and itchy–a sure sign of spicy heat. When I was younger I hated spicy stuff, but now I love it.  I’ll need to figure out how to incorporate some Sriracha or spicy curry into my diet soon… Anyway, I ate too much and got home feeling quite full.  I guess a lot of it was fluid, but I need to stop myself before I get full.

The week is finally winding down to a close now, and I have mixed feelings on it.  One one hand, I worked out 5 times this week, with two great leg workouts and a nice walk/hike outdoors:)  On the other hand, I ate too much each of the last 3 nights and didn’t drink enough water this week:(

Tomorrow is a new week, and I’m determined to eat well, work out at least 4 times, and continue (ahem, restart) my approach of not eating until I’m full.  I’ll start out with yoga in the morning, and I am looking forward to having steel cut oats again for breakfast (better prep those now!).  I bought them in bulk this week at Freddy’s, and they definitely look different than Bob’s Red Mill (smaller, a few dark specks in there).  I’ll let you know how that goes. 

I hope you all had a nice end to your week, and I know I’m glad to have one more day off before heading back to work.  How about you?

 

3 Responses to “S-S-S-S-Saturday”

  1. Erin Says:

    GOod girl! Of course you overate – that’s natural right now. But it balances out, right? I love that you guys did pilates together!

  2. Hangry Pants Says:

    Well, now it’s Sunday and I still wish I had another day!

    The chips look v. tasty.

  3. 612 Says:

    Helpful Workout Tips
    Material Here

    Martial arts tutoring […]…


Leave a Reply

