The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Free and Lazy Friday November 28, 2008

Wow, it was only Friday today.  Sweet!  I passed out on the couch last night and didn’t sleep all that well, part couch and part alcohol consumption I think.  Does alcohol do that to you, too–make you wake up after one sleep cycle or so?

I finally got up around 9 and did the usual take Lily out/make coffee/make oats routine, but for using a different type of oats today.  I used the rolled oats I had left over from my apple crisp, and made them on the stovetop with pumpkin Silk, water, raisins, and a pinch of salt.  When they were nearly done I added slivered almonds, and I topped off the finished product with some more Silk.  I liked the taste, but think I prefer the chewier, heartier texture of the steel cut oats instead of the mushier, softer texture of these.

100_0001_12

I sat around reading blogs, watching some TV, and drinking coffee all morning.  I can’t believe how sore my legs are today from the walk yesterday!  It is great!  I also did a little yoga this morning, as I saw it was on Fit TV and got in like 10 minutes of practice.  I was in a pretty good mood, and enjoyed being able to relax.  I kept wondering about going to the gym, but decided to take the day off b/c of my crazy sore legs and feet.

For lunch I had some leftover roasted veggies, turkey, and a little bit of gravy.  Yummy smell as it heated, and great taste:)

100_0003_12

After this I went to Fred Meyer to pick up some things for dinner tonight at my dad’s, and for Chris, Lily, and I in general.  I didn’t do the usual menu planning b/c I didn’t feel like it.  I knew I had protein for the next 2 days already, that I could finagle some sides, and we have Thanksgiving leftovers.  No shortage of food here.

I’ve seen a lot of cottage cheese incorporated in all of your blogs out there, so I decided to finally buy some and test it out.  Now, let me tell you about my last experience with cottage cheese. .. It was, oh, about 8 years ago in college (holy shit I feel old saying that) and my boyfriend liked to eat cottage cheese with ranch dressing.  I had never liked cc before that, but one night after drinking too much Franzia white zin with the bf I ate like half a bowl of his cc and ranch concoction.  I promptly got sick (mostly from the wine, I’m sure) and haven’t really wanted to try cc since then.

Enter 2008’s blog scene and my taste test today.  I just had like 1/4 cup with some no salt added Saltines (bought them for Daddy’s halibut recipe, and saw they have high fructose corn syrup in them!!:|)  I ate a few spoonfuls of the cc alone, and noticed how the curds remind me of salty mozzarella in taste and texture.  Great, b/c I love fresh mozzarella 🙂  Paired with the crackers it was pretty good, and I’ll see about trying it in oats, with fruit/jam, cinnamon, or other preparations.  I would love to hear your favorite cottage cheese dishes/concoctions/recipes–please leave a comment for me!

100_0004_12 Not too shabby 🙂

What did I do after this? Hm…more blogging I think.  I felt kinda lazy and didn’t want to clean or unload the dishwasher, so I was on the computer for awhile. 

Around 4:15 we left for my dad’s so I could put the pie in the oven early before he came home from work.  The pie was from Lee Farms of Tualatin, Oregon: http://www.leefarmsoregon.com/  I also prepped some of the salad, crushed the saltines, got out the brie and promptly began eating it, and enjoyed some Willakenzie 2006 Pinot Blanc.  (My G-Ma also brought over some Spanish sheep’s milk cheese that was really soft, creamy, and mild.  Mmmmm.) Lily asked if she could have some too, so I gave her a cracker:)

100_0007_12100_0008_12

I was good, eating just a few bites of everything while keeping busy in the kitchen.  My dad got home and we did more prep, then started cooking when everyone was there.  The halibut was SO good–moist inside, crispy outside, fabulous taste and texture.  My dad coats it in an egg wash, dredges it in the ground up Saltines, and pan fries it in some butter and olive oil–100% perfect!  For sides we had red Bhutanese rice, leftover mashed potatoes (G-Ma insisted on bringing them over since she had leftovers she wanted to pawn off), and a spinach salad with broc slaw, red pepper, and a little basil.  A very yummy dinner that wasn’t overly large.  I decided to forego the potatoes since we already had one starch.

100_0016_08

Chris picked out two fantabulous wines from my dad’s cellar: a Bergstrom 2001 Paso Robles Syrah, and an Archery Summit 2005 Red Hills Pinot Noir.  Both were really full bodied, had great flavor, and gone too quickly.  The 7 of us drinkers went though 4 bottles of wine in all.  Here’s pics of the cellar and the Bergstrom:

100_0009_11100_0012_09

My dad’s hall closet is under his staircase, and has a bunch of open space in the back; it also happens to stay at a perfect, consistent temperature for most of his wine, so it is therefore his main “cellar.”  I always think it is fun (and funny) to whip out the flashlight, part the coats, and crouch in the closet looking through his wine.

Next we moved along to the yummy pie, but not before I had a few more bites of cheese while sort of helping to clean up.  The marionberry pie was TO DIE FOR.  I don’t think I’ve ever had pie that good before–perfect taste, texture, and crust, not too sweet and not too tart.  I added a little spoon of ice cream, too:)

100_0018_07

Double yum!  We had some coffee with our dessert, and sat/stood around chatting in the kitchen and family room for awhile.  All in all it was a great evening, except for me eating a tad too much on all fronts.  Thankfully we don’t get together twice a week like this, or else I’d be in trouble for sure on the eat-fewer-calories front.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the food and socializing, but it is easier for me to control my portions and nutrition when making my own meals, or when eating out at familiar places. 

100_0022_05There’s my honey and my little girl:)

Now Chris and I have succumbed to yet more wine.  I’m feeling like quite the wino lately.  We are enjoying a Willakenzie 2005 Selection Clonale 114 Pinot Noir, and it is yet another great wine.  I like tasting the individual clones that are blended to create the wines.

There’s a Mork & Mindy marathon on SciFi right now, and it is suprisingly funny and entertaining.  Right now they’re about to get married and Mork is turning into a dog b/c his alien master doesn’t approve.  Lily heard Mork bark on TV and started growling… such a good girl protecting us.  Love her 🙂

I’m out for the night, folks.  Hoping to get in pilates and cardio tomorrow, how bout you?

 

3 Responses to “Free and Lazy Friday”

  1. Looks like you guys had a yummy time! And who knew there was HFCS in saltines. Jeeze!

  2. Erin Says:

    I love the picture of Chris and Lily! They’re so sweet. 🙂 I can’t wait to see you guys!
    I’ll put cottage cheese in oatmeal, with all-bran, with fruit, veggies and savory spices – it’s so versatile! Oh,and on top of toast or muffins.

  3. Andrea Says:

    It’s 8 a.m. on Saturday and I’m thinking about going to pilates at 24 at this morning. Maybe I’ll see you there?! I need to redeem myself for eating fish last night 🙂 In my defense, I only eat fish when eating sushi 🙂
    Your dinner last night looks so good. I love Spanish cheese – especially when it’s made out of sheep’s milk. It’s the best.


Leave a Reply

