The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Non stop action November 23, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kersten @ 10:34 pm

As much as I hate that Sunday is nearly over, I am excited that this is only a 3 day week and that Thanksgiving is Thursday.  Today was really busy after I got going, hence the title.

Lily was up and at em by 7, and she came to nudge me a few times but I didn’t get up until just before 8.  I guess I slept pretty well, but I was tired and just wanted to stay in my cozy bed all morning.  I put some coffee on and went out to play with the girl (it was so cold…frost was all over the place), and happened to see a flock of [don’t snarf your tea, Andrea…] bushtits.  I wishI could capture more of them at once, but they’re so busy moving around it is rather hard.  Here they are enjoying some suet:

100_0002_07

Once back inside I poured a bowl of All Bran Strawberry Medley with almond milk, and made up my coffee.  Last night all of my containers were dirty, and since I didn’t feel that great I was fine with not prepping my oats.  I like the various textures of this cereal, especially the little waffle/grid looking things. 

100_0004_07

I watched about a half hour of Top Chef reruns, called my mom to figure out our lunch time, and then got ready to go to the gym.  I don’t feel like I’ve been doing enough weight training, so today I was intent on getting in a good session and come cardio.  I supersetted legs and then back and biceps, and was still amazed at how long those 10 exercises took.  I worked legs hard, and was a bit shaky while stabilizing myself for my upper body work–yowza!  My quads felt a little jelly-like heading downstairs to do my cardio, so I was totally holding on to the railing just in case they should buckle.  Cardio was good, but not as long as I’d have liked:  25 minutes of moving fast on the elliptical.

I got home in just enough time to shower, make myself pretty-ish, and head out to the Olive Garden.  I ordered minestrone soup, salad, and breadsticks to help avoid over eating and try to be a bit healthier than my usual fettucine alfredo.  I also had a bite of my mom’s carbonara–heavenly!!

100_0006_07100_0007_07

I was able to avoid eating until I felt full–yay!  Good thing b/c we headed off to Old Navy and Nordstrom Rack afterward to look for a few things Ma needed.  I tried on some stuff at Old Navy, but ended up buying only a cute pair of hot pink flats for $7.49.  (BTW, I love pink, especially hot pink/fuschia/magenta).  I didn’t see anything at the Rack, and was getting incredibly tired while we were there.  Seriously, I felt like I could have napped right there on the floor!  After Ma and I parted, I headed to Freddy’s for the grocery shopping, and was dreading it a bit b/c of how tired I felt. 

Freddy’s was majorly busy, and I felt like a zombie, but managed to keep my head on straight to get the shopping done in one fell swoop through the store.  I’m making an apple crisp and a winter veggie dish for Thanksgiving, so I gleefully picked up lots of apples, and some parsnips, carrots, onions, and an acorn squash.

I got home around 3 and had a snack after putting away the groceries.  It consisted of 1/2 an apple, a tiny bit of Laughing Cow Light, and one of my leftover mini wraps from yesterday.  I forgot to take a pic.  Oh, and I had 3 or 4 of the Food Should Taste Good multigrain chips, too.

I don’t know how I managed to wake up again, but I didn’t really feel tired after getting home.  I proceeded to play with Lily, sweep the house, take out the recycling and organize the kitchen a bit.  I have been really trying not to put off the inevitable cleaning/organizing duties and am finding that I feel a lot more productive and happy b/c of it.  I still procrastinate on some stuff, but mostly feel like I’m getting the hang of being a domestic diva again 😀 

Tonight’s dinner menu consisted of stuffed bell peppers, and I started prepping that at 4-something at a nice leisurely pace.  This dinner takes a little leg work and a few pans, but it is well worth the result 🙂  Tonight’s stuffing consisted of 93% lean ground beef, brown rice, canned Italian tomatoes in their juice, tomato sauce, Italian seasoning, a hint of cayenne, garlic, onion, and Nature’s Seasoning.  I like to cut the peppers in half, since I find that a whole stuffed pepper is too much food for me usually; after I stuff them I pour on a little tomato sauce.  When they’re done I put a small spoon of low fat sour cream and some shredded cheddar on top and pop them back in the oven for a minute.  Yummy!  We enjoyed dinner with a nice jammy zinfandel.

100_0010_06100_0011_05

I’m excited to have a pepper for lunch or another dinner, too.  They are one of those foods that often tastes better on the 2nd day after cooking, once the flavors have melded a bit more. 

After cleaning up dinner I was getting the itch to have clean carpets, and since Chris wasn’t feeling up to it I vacuumed.  I also put in some laundry since I figured it couldn’t hurt.  I finally sat down by the fire with Chris and read the rest of my Road & Track, andsome work related stuff.  Around 9 I started getting a bit hungry, so I had some Danon Light & Fit vanilla yogurt with almond slivers, raisins, and chocolate chips (the latter two plucked from my trail mix from like 2 weeks ago).  It was good; this yogurt is definitely an improvement over the Freddy’s brand. 

100_0012_05 Damn, I gotta work on my photography–shadows abound!

I’m excited for my oatmeal tomorrow morning, as I’m trying a few new ingredients.  Check back tomorrow to see how it goes!

Hopefully you can see this pic of Lily sniffing my new shoes.  She had her nose fully in the shoe, but moved before I could capture the pic.

000_0015_01

Lily is nudging me to go outside again one last time and play, so off I go with her, and then on to bed.  Hope you had a nice weekend 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

