The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Grape escape November 22, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kersten @ 9:50 pm

Aw, Saturday is already over practically!  Quick weekends suck, no?

This morning I was desperate to get rid of my headache, but thankfully didn’t feel sick to my stomach as sometimes happens.  I had my oats and some coffee to start the day while watching the critters outside, and a few pieces of apple too since I was cutting two up for lunch and it wouldn’t all fit in the container.  It was so cold last night!  Down in the low 40s and foggy-brrrrrrrr.  My oats warmed me up nicely, and the pumpkin spice Silk gave a hint of sweetness and spice.  Given that the Silk is so sweet, I thought my oats may follow suit, but I only used 1/4 cup of it in them.   Maybe I can use it in my coffee, too…

100_0001_06

I was in no condition to work out, and was rather bummed about that.  I want to go to the gym 4 times per week, and not going today means I went 3 times this week.  Perhaps I can fit in an extra day this coming week since work is light and I have a day or two off in there.

Wineries don’t often have much food to eat with the wine, so I made lunch for my dad, Chris, and I to enjoy beforehand.  I tried something a little different:  I cut up low fat tortillas into thirds, spread on some Laughing Cow Light, sprinkled on broc slaw, added spinach, and put in a strip of chicken.  They rolled up nicely and were cute in my Glad Ware 🙂  I made six of them, and also a sandwich for Chris (he’s more of a sando type of guy). 
100_0010_051

Chris and I departed for wine country around 11:15, and arrived at Archery Summit around noon.  We sat in my dad’s car and ate for a few minutes, then entered the man made caves under the winery and starting our tasting.   

 100_0013_04100_0018_04

Archery Summit had some cheese paired with 3 of the 4 wines, and all of it was nummy.  In general, the wine here was good, but it is a bit overpriced for what you get.  It was a beautiful place, though 🙂  I had 3 small pieces of cheese, a few pieces of bread, and 3 1/2 small wine samples.

We moved on to Willakenzie Estate (www.willakenzie.com), where Chris has been a member for like a decade, and I’ve been going for about 4 years now with him.  We know a lot of the staff there, so it is kind of like our winery equivalent of Cheers.  It was so busy!  We moved through the six samples of wine, four of which were paired with some yummy foods, and showed my dad around a bit.  He left around 2:45 or so, and Chris and I stayed to chat with friends and have more good wine.

100_0031_00100_0037_00

 The winery still had three vats full of fermenting grapes, and were punching them down each hour for us to see.  It looked like quite an odd stew of purple matter, and you could smell the fermentation a bit.  Interesting!  Woops, dropped my hairbrush in there… haha, j/k.

100_0026_02100_0039_00

The foods I had were the lesser funky of the four offered:  pulled pork on polenta with scallion, and (get this!) a wild boar pate with an unidentifiable chutney and frisee on a water cracker.  I’m surprised I ate that last item, as I’m not a big fan of pate and boar just sounds odd.  I also had several table water crackers throughout our visit.  I didn’t eat the scallop and lamb bites, as I’m not a fan of those proteins.  The wine here was good, and we took home our Cellar Club Member selections from the last year, basically.  (It was too hot to have them in the car before when we visited, so we left them there until now.)  Yay, a whole case of wine to add to the collection 🙂  If you visit the webiste and decide to join, be sure to say Chris and Kersten referred you! 

We left Willakenzie around 4? 4:30? and headed to Forest Grove, where Chris grew up, to eat at his favorite sandwich shop:  Phil’s 1500 Subs.  We split a large fajita sandwich on whole wheat, which was really yummy, but I ate too much 😦  My hands totally still smell like onion, too.  Isn’t it amazing how onions stink up clothes, hands, etc?  This is a pic of my portion:

 

100_0042_00 Chris was being silly and decided to flip off the sando/me as I took a picture.

Our drive home was loooooooooooooonggggg, dark, and windy, as I went the back way and missed a turn that would have saved some time.  Chris was snoozing a bit, and he didn’t notice until it was too late.  I’m glad to be home, but feeling a little out of it.  I hardly slept last night, too, and would love to get some sleep and completely be rid of my headache.  I’m afraid it may come back due to my wine consumption, but so far, so good.  I really want to work out tomorrow, but may end up skipping yoga.  I don’t want to, but I’m afraid I may hurt myself (shoulders, elbows, and aggravated knee) and that would be no good.  Perhaps some cardio and weights instead to strengthen and help me be ready for more yoga Tuesday.

Tomorrow I’m going to lunch with my mom at the Olive Garden, and I hope to visit the new Trader Joe’s (www.traderjoes.com) nearby afterward.  Do you have TJ’s near you?  Do you shop there?  There’s also a Market of Choice about 10 min away, but I haven’t ever shopped there. 

Well, time to retire into my comfy bed and watch some TV.  I love watching TV from bed, how about you?

 

One Response to “Grape escape”

  1. Hangry Pants Says:

    I do enjoy Trader Joe’s. I like getting things like nuts, bars, frozen foods, etc. There is also this very delicious lemon curd. If you like lemon squares, you’ll like it. It’s like the inside of one. Yum. 😀


Leave a Reply

