The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Monday was happy :) November 17, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kersten @ 9:20 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I finally, finally, finally got a good night’s sleep, and a ton of it, last night, so today started out pretty well when I finally got up around 7:45.  Lily was howling out the back door at that point, and it was our roof repair guys here to start the job.  Did I tell you about that?  We saw a leak last week out in the garage, and had noticed some dry rot in a few places outside.  Turns out the roof wasn’t braced properly in one place, nor were the valleys done correctly.  Our house is about 34 years old, so it wasn’t a huge surprise.

100_0001_02100_0002_02

I was making lunch and figured that I’d heat up my oatmeal and eat at home since I didn’t know how the morning would pan out.  It was a little runnier than I’d like, and part of that was me adding more almond milk to cool it down so I could eat it sooner than later.  A question for you, though:  is it bad to eat my breakfast when I’m not hungry?  I’m not usually hungry when I eat my oatmeal, but I figure that it is a good kickstart for my metabolism and that it will keep my brain powered for the a.m.

100_0003_02

The roof guys were busting out the repair, so I headed to Home Depot to get some paint for them (deal was we provide the paint and they’ll paint the underside of the eaves they repair for free).  At that point I had to cancel my acupuncture appointment  😦  and Chris had decided to stay home for the day to monitor the work.  When I got back I made some coffee, waited to pour myself a cup, and headed to work.

I made a detour to Costco on the way in, and picked up an Rx, peanuts (for the birds/squirrels), multi grain chips, and Laughing Cow Light (!!).  I was SO excited they had Laughing Cow, as Chris and I just about killed that wheel in a day and a half.  The price was great, too, less than the sale price at Freddy’s per wheel. 

100_0004_02My new friend  🙂

Once I got to work I got on the computer and took care of random tasks, then broke for lunch at about 12:30.  My wrap was a low-fat tortilla with a wedge of Laughing Cow Light, low-fat turkey, spinach, and broc slaw.  I was worried it would be a bit bland, but not so!  The cheese was so creamy, and I could probably even go with 1/2 a wedge.  I also had a small apple, and about 5 of the Kashi crackers.  I know I said I wouldn’t use foil anymore, but this is reused foil from last week. 

100_0005_02

Back to work for about an hour, and I headed out for the day.  I know, I know, a very short day… I was getting energized and felt like working out, and couldn’t really get into work mode.  I thought I felt myself getting hungry on the way home–“no way, already?” I thought.  I tried to ignore it and drank an EmergenC when I got home, and more water. 

The gym was great–I did a full hour of cardio!  I went in with a goal of an hour, and wanted to integrate the beastly stair master, but was afraid I wouldn’t be able to do it for very long.  I started on the elliptical and the first 15 minutes just blew by; getting to 30 felt like no big deal.  Then I approached the beast, climbed on, and proceeded to knock out 90 floors in my 30 minutes.  Yeah, I was going rather slow, but I did not lean on the machine and every step was quality  🙂  I hate seeing people lean all over the machine–what’s the point?

There were a few times I felt like getting off the stair master, but I stuck with it and used my music to pump me up for that last 15 minutes of sweaty glory.  (Erin, I totally have to agree that the stair master is a no-go without the headphones!)  Afterward I stretched, and thought a few people looked at me funny on the way up and downstairs.  When I got into the bathroom I saw my face was beet red–no wonder they looked at me like that! 

After I got home I played with Lily and ran around the neighborhood with her to get some of her energy out.  With the roof guys there and roof debris on the ground we didn’t want to let her out for fear of getting a nail, staple, or sliver in her paw.  After that I got cleaned up and started prepping dinner.

I was getting a tad hungry so I made a spinach salad with broc slaw, green pepper, a few kalamatas sliced, a little feta, balsamic vinegar, olive oil, and pepper.  I made more than I thought I would eat so I could stuff the rest in my wrap tomorrow, but I ate it all!  It was a great pre-dinner snack. 

100_0006_02

Dinner was a treat fo’ sho:  beef tenderloin steaks with mashed potatoes.  Yum yum yum yum yum!  I broiled the steaks with nothing but some salt on them and they were perfect–a relief ’cause I’m always nervous cooking steaks indoors (the grill is their rightful place).  The ‘tatoes had Smart Balance Light, a tbsp of reduced fat sour cream, and Nature’s Seasoning in them.  I topped mine with a hair more of the Smart Balance and sour cream for extra creaminess, but probably could have skipped it.  We had a Cabernet Sauvingon with our meal.  I forgot to take a pic before I dove in…  VEGETARIANS LOOK AWAY!!!

100_0008_02

That was one tasty dinner, and although I didn’t feel full afterward I thought I ate a little too much.  I gave Chris part of my steak, and drank tons of water, and since I’m not hungry by now (about 9) I don’t think I’m going to eat anything else today. 

Today was a very happy day overall, and I’m so glad I was able to do a full hour of cardio.  In an effort to help the weight come off more quickly, I’m doing a little calorie research so I can be more aware of how many calories I’m eating to try to cut down a tad.  Who knew a medium potato has like 200 cals?  Yipes! Or that a cup of spinach only has like 8??  I knew the content of most items b/c of the nutritional labels, but some things (avocado, bulk raisins, potato, apple, olives…) were eluding me.  I used caloriecount.com for some assistance on those things.

I hope you all had a great day, and “see” you tomorrow.

p.s.  Of course now that I say I’m not hungry, I’m getting hungry thinking about all of this food!  Blogging does that to me, does it make you hungry, too?

 

3 Responses to “Monday was happy :)”

  1. Erin Says:

    Blogging definitely does that to me. Sometimes I just throw myself into the bedroom!
    I try not to eat until I’m hungry in the morning, but I don’t have to be starving. I don’t know if it matters though.

  2. Kersten Says:

    Hey friend–Thanks for leaving me comments each day. I feel like we’re catching up and that you’re not so far away 🙂 I managed to ignore my hunger last night and went to bed. You’re so funny…you “throw” yourself into the bedroom–LOL. Thanks for answering my questions!

  3. Mmmm steak! Do you have a grill pan? I love using it for steaks and chicken!


Leave a Reply

