The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

I went to the gym! November 8, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kersten @ 1:26 pm
Tags: , , ,

Brace yourselves, people, I actually got off my arse and went to the gym today!!  Over the last week I have been checking out details about my local 24HourFitness’ classes, and the yoga and pilates selections piqued my interest.  I haven’t received my 24Hour membership voucher from Costco yet, so I downloaded a free 7 day pass online!!  Imagine that, I was actually MOTIVATED enough to be proactive and figure out how I could get to the gym today. 

Last night I kept thinking about heading to the gym, and this morning I wasn’t positive I would go, but at like 9:30 I decided to go for it and head to the 10 o’clock pilates class. The membership people were kind enough to not bore me with details when I got there. I headed upstairs, jumped on a the elliptical to warm up for a few minutes, and headed on in to the studio for my first pilates sesh in like 4 years.  I know, you say, “what are you thinking diving in to pilates right away??!!” but it worked out well (no pun intended!).  I was careful not to overdo it, stuck to basic versions of all the moves, and listened to my body so as not to hurt myself.  That hour flew by, and it did help me feel energized and accomplished 🙂

So, back downstairs I went, stopping in the ladies room to wash the hands along the way.  Touching things in the gym makes me feel pretty germy, and although I’m not obsessive about germs I felt the need to wash the hands.  I was also curious to see how much I weigh, but the scale in the ladies room was broken!  I’m guessing I’m somewhere around 155, but my scale at home is an crappy old spring scale that is totally inaccurate.  Oh well, I’ll use the scale upstairs at the gym next time.  [side note…the gym was PACKED TO THE MAX!  I got a little nervous about walking around in front of everyone with my ass ga-donk-a-donking around, but then I actually felt rather anonymous and un-spectacle-like because of the crowd.  Everyone is there to get fit, right, no matter what they look like 🙂 ]

Off I went to meet with David in membership, and get the schpiel about how I need to do personal training to make sure I get results and work out efficiently.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I fully understand the value of paying someone for specific, tailored advice, but I just don’t know if I want to hire a personal trainer for like $55/hour just to walk me though the target heartrate calculation, diet evaluation, and exercise techniques I’m pretty familiar with.  I’m kind of in the zone of creating my routine and executing it on my own for now, but we’ll see what happens.  So, David mentioned the “Biggest Loser” promo of 5-25minute sessions for about $100.  This sounds like a much better deal to me, and we’ll see if I end up pursuing it.  Sounds like a great Christmas gift (hint, hint to the fam).

I headed out and realized I was getting overly hungry, as I did not eat anything this morning.  That is a HORRIBLE habit I’ve gotten into over the last 4 years–not eating breakfast.  I love breakfast though, but usually I’m a bit lazy and don’t want to take the time to make something.  Now I’m going to make it a point to eat some breakfast every day, even if it is just a Clif Nectar bar (love those!) or some fruit…just something to get the metabolism going and fuel my morning. 

At first I thought I’d make some whole wheat French toast with syrup from Megan’s wedding, but then got a hankerin’ for something savory and made scrambled eggs with feta and kalamata olives in a reduced fat heart healthy tortilla.  One thing I noticed about these tortillas is they’re rather bitter unless I heat them up thoroughly, so here’s the pic of my little friend warming in the pan with his guts going along for the ride.  It was yummy!  I also had the rest of my Fuji apple from yesterday’s lunch.

100_0374

So here I sit, mid-day Saturday, feeling accomplished and good about getting to the gym today.  I may go tomorrow, too, and try out the yoga class at 10.  We’ll see!

One last topic before I go for the day:  body image.  I have described myself as fat throughout my site, and I should probably describe what I mean by it.  To me “fat” does not mean incredibly overweight, it means having too much body fat and feeling too soft.  I’m sick of having my stomach fold over itself (or my pants!), seeing muffin top sprawl out of my low jeans, and watching my body jiggle as I move around.  I don’t like how I look in the few clothes I have left that fit, and most of what I see when I look in the mirror is the pockets of fat that bulge from, roll over, or stretch out my clothing.  No, no, I don’t have a totally negative body image, but I miss feeling svelte and being able to sit down without having the stomach runneth over the waistband.  I feel less beautiful than I should, and I know that by improving my fitness I will ultimately be improving my body image, body composition, and perception of my beauty 🙂

Thanks for reading!  Let’s finish with a question:  what makes you feel beautiful?  Please leave a comment or answer so I know you were here!   Have a great day!

 

One Response to “I went to the gym!”

  1. Erin Says:

    Remember when you (we) used to walk around 24 hour like we OWNED the place? I know you’ll get there again girl.
    I feel beautiful when I’ve taken the time to look my best (i.e. painted my face, done the hair, outfit, accessories, the whole shit) AND I’m making people laugh.
    Oddly enough, this happens when I’m teaching!
    Have a great night sweetie! Your blog is awesome!


Leave a Reply

