The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Here I am, fat and on a quest to be fit once again November 7, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kersten @ 11:03 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Hi!  My name is Kersten and I’m a 27 year old Portland, Oregon, resident who is sick of being out of shape!  Once upon a time I was fit and trim, but then I started an intense job about 4 1/2 years ago and let my eating and workouts go by the wayside.  I am now battling the bulge, growing out of my clothes, have low energy, and hate how my body looks 😦  No more, I say!!! 

I hope you will follow, join, or encourage me on my quest to lose inches, gain tone, and return to a mostly healthy lifestyle.  About one month ago I began eating more healthfully by making dinner at home 4 times a week, and by making my lunch for work 4-5 days per week.  While I don’t intend to be 100% perfect and healthy, I hope to eat mostly healthy foods, reduce my impact on the environment at the same time, and workout regularly.  My major weakness is Mexican food, which I currently eat 3 times a week between two restaurants–I do not anticipate that this will go away, but I hope to make better menu choices when I eat there.

Just today I bought a 2 year membership to 24 Hour Fitness–my long lost gym!  (Check it out!  Costco is selling all-club Sport memberships, 2 years for $290!  That’s about $12/month!!) I hope to attend some pilates and yoga classes, and begin an early a.m. workout routine to get my ass in shape!

I was inspired by my blogging friends at caretoeat.net to start this blog, especially Erin who was my workout buddy and major friend and source of support when I was fit once upon a time–love you girl!  Erin and Andrea are totally fun, majorly healthy, and a great inspiration to anyone hoping to eat and live well 🙂  Rock on, girls!

 

2 Responses to “Here I am, fat and on a quest to be fit once again”

  1. Erin Says:

    I LOVE YOU AND I AM SO FREAKING PROUD OF YOU KERSTEN!

  2. Andrea Says:

    Dude! I’m sooooooo behind on my blog reading so I’m just catching up and getting in the loop with your new, fabulous blog!
    ANY time you want a gym buddy, I’m there! I have a 24hour membership too, so just let me know – I go in the am or pm, but not both 🙂
    Also, I’m all over meeting up at Bob’s Red Mill. I can’t believe they’ve been open this long and I have never been!
    Can’t wait to read more of your posts…adding you to my google reader right now!
    Andrea


Leave a Reply

