The Quest to be Fit

Tracking my journey to better health

Ain’t life grand? July 21, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kersten @ 10:07 am
Tags:

My life officially sucks.  I’ve been a bit of a depressed stress case the last several days, and then this morning my world was rocked a bit. 

My grandmother had an ischemic stroke late last night at her house, and my uncle found her unconscious this morning.  She’s in the hospital and still unconscious.  Her entire left brain was affected, and it does not look like she will recover at all.  This is the end of the line for her it seems 😦  I think my aunt is flying in from Colorado, and my brother from Seattle, so we can all gather to say goodbye and determine when to take her off of life support.  She is mostly breathing on her own, but every once in awhile the breathing machine kicks in.  She did not want any life prolonging measures, and at 88 I can understand why.  (Hell, at 27 I don’t want life sustaining measures.)  She’s had a long, fruitful life, but I’m sad that this all happened so fast and I won’t get to interact with her again.

Not sure when I’ll post again, but see you on the flipside.

 

4 Responses to “Ain’t life grand?”

  1. Andrea Says:

    Oh sweetie – I’m thinking about you 🙂

  2. Melanie Says:

    I’m so sorry:(. I’ll be praying for you guys.

  3. Oh no 😦 I’m so sorry! Good thoughts and vibes going out to you and your family!

  4. carolinebee Says:

    So so sorry Andrea..thinking of you and your fam.


Leave a comment